A nighttime leopard frog orgy.


Advertisement
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Leopard FrogLeopard FrogLeopard Frog

a plaque in Morro Bay in 2002.
Morro Bay, Morro Strand State Beach, campground.

02-11-2002.



My sleep was disturbed all night by the noisy bark of giant Leopard Frogs. They must have been all over the campground and when I had to go out of my tent to the campground's toilet I had to watch my step, I had to carefully manouever through huge frog bodies, frogs that had very little interest in my nightly pee-pee activities but instead were busy chasing each other for mating.

I felt like I was in the middle of a nighttime Leopard Frog orgy.

Sitting outside my little tent last night sipping californian Red Wine, I enjoyed the sounds of the ocean's waves rolling in onto the beach. Tranquility ruled most of the evening despite this being the time of Haloween.

Only one small band of dressed up kids - dressed like witches and magicians that could have walked right out of a Harry Potter book - disturbed the campground.

Seeing me sitting dead calm and totally relaxed in front of my tent, I presume they didn't really know what to make of me and decided to hassle my neighbors instead, banging away with
Pelican Pelican Pelican

Flying pelican in Morro Bay.
children's fists on the metal sides of mobile homes, screaming their young lungs out of their bodies and throwing oranges around.

Once they were gone and my tormented pissed-off campground neighbors had gone back inside still growling over a fruitless chase of kicking some young *sses, I collected the oranges for breakfast.

I consider Morro Bay a gem of Mother Nature full with birds, sea lions and brown pelicans that seem to inhabit Morro Rock co-excisting with the peregrine falcons I saw yesterday circling around that weirdly shaped wonder of nature.

The beach is full with rotting kelp and every time I get near this dark green stuff I disturb tiny flies that fly around in countless numbers. I presume they live on this rotting sea vegetation.

A big huge owl - similar to all the roadside kills I saw while cycling through Joaquin Valley - has got a roosting place in a tree near my tent.

There is no single bit of doubt on my mind he feeds on all these h*rny leopard frogs, yeah, his provision cupboard is full with fresh and juicy fat food. His is the picking while his mating pray will keep this aforementioned cupboard full to overflow f*rnicating like mad and producing offspring in their hunderts.

The campground owner told me they are a plaque around here.

Spent most of my day hiking around Morro Bay Estuary which is full with sanddunes.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 20; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1899s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb