Redwood fog


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Mendocino
November 6th 2007
Published: November 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

7am. My coat is damp. I am on my bike 10 miles inland and the fog hasn't lifted quite yet as I battle a big hill. I am trying to reach Ukiah; 40 miles inland. With my rucksack on my back, and sweat dripping in my coat. An hour or so later I reach the first town Compotche. An old conservative town in the hills with a baptist church constructed of redwood, and a school of the same make beside it.
I stop at the gas station to get some power bars, and read the chalk board inside: Precipitation to date 5.36 DRY.

I move on quite tired. Eventually while climbing a 10% grade for 2 miles the sun clears out the fog and I clear out my coat and ride in style. Unfortunately, I was exhausted by the time I had done 25 miles or so and could barely pedal as I reached a strange part of the road littered with apples from a tree, and then I stopped to look in wonder at a large tree completely engulfed in the vines of a wild grape bush with an abundance of grapes I have yet to see. I started
My padMy padMy pad

A dry tree, apples, and even pears. Who could ask for more? A lot of people.
devouring the grapes very quickly, and after 3 bunches, I see someone walking on the property across the gate. An older women who looked quite friendly. I yell and ask if it's ok to eat the grapes and I get a definite 'go for it' from her. So I continue. She is going over to her horse ranch across the road to work with the horses for the day. A few minutes later, I see a small RV cruising up the road at its own pace with a Colorado license plate. I flag it down and an elderly couple stop in the middle of the road, roll down the window, and I tell them I could really use a ride.

It worked out pretty well. We pull up to the horse ranch, find that my bike fits on their extended bike rack, and we begin chatting it up with the trainer at Mystic Horse Ranch, Bev Smith. She tells me to go get as many grapes as I want, and I do. 2 bags worth. MMMmmm. After we finish our chat in the 60 something degree weather of the Orr Springs Road canyon we move on. I'm sitting in the back of the RV hooting it up with Vincent and Margeret Arp of Boulder, Colorado. They take me and my sore tuschie to Ukiah and drop me off at the Co-op. I had a great day, full of grapes, sweat, and redwoods.

But it's just began. I am at KMEC Radio Station, the local Ukiah station, writing this up, and now I must head on back to the Co-op to find my late ride to San Fran. I should be in Olympia, WA tomorrow evening at earliest.


=)

Pictures sooner orr later. No connection now


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

15 miles in15 miles in
15 miles in

I can hardly stand, but I do know the tree behind me lived 150 years. So I can try 21 at least.
The ride north to OlympiaThe ride north to Olympia
The ride north to Olympia

The owner of the car, Dara in the back, and the two passengers on the right from Portland: Matt and Chelsea


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb