Huntington Beach - The Arrival


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We finally arrive at our destination point, one of Danny's pal's nearly-beachside apartments in Huntington Beach, almost exactly 24 hours after we left. I had driven the entire length of the trip, just because I made a personal goal to drive that far. Now that I know I can, fuck driving the entire length of trips, Danny is driving on the way back. After unpacking all our shit, we decided to go out and have a few drinks, which sounded immensely appealing after a long road trip. We hit up Main Street, which is the lively entertainment section of Huntington Beach. It made the Depot District look like my ass after eating a Grande; seriously, if I owned Lubbock-which I will one day, believe it- I would model an entertainment district after Main Street. After walking into the first bar we went to, I immediately could tell a difference in the atmosphere there than what I was used to. It was pretty packed for a Sunday night, and there were people all around dressed up in let-me-see-your-ass-crack miniskirts and designer clothing; groups of people were all over the place, standing in circles and dancing to the music, making it hard as fuck to walk through. It was a tiki-themed bar, which, if you know me, really peaked my interest. That was about as far as it went though; the atmosphere and the clientelle didn't really do it for me. Everyone drank Corona's; Jacky and I, of course, ordered Bud Light bottles, which were like 6 bucks each. Fuck....That. After paying that much for a beer, I needed a cigarette...but, oh wait...you can't smoke in ANY establishments in California...which meant that we had to squeeze our way onto the crammed, tiny patio, where there were more people standing in more circles in more let-me-see-your-ass-crack miniskirts and designer clothing, dancing. I couldn't help but laugh.

After that bar, we went to another bar across the street, where there was a pretty cool upstairs patio that overlooked Main Street. I went to the bar and ordered me and Jacky two Bud Light drafts and two shots of Jager...and our tab was 25 god-damned dollars. It was a good thing I was tired as fuck, otherwise I could have spent $300 there just to get a buzz. After a long day of driving, I crashed hard when we got home.


Advertisement



10th August 2006

nice
Hey, I never realized how good of a storyteller you are. I like it.

Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb