Smog City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
September 16th 2012
Published: September 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to LAX! I had a few hours to kill so I figured I may as well start my blog. Clearly I am not yet in Vegas...we had an entertaining flight for all the wrong reasons with an emergency stopover in Hawaii but before I explain what happened...for those who followed my last travel blog you will know I try to get as much down and as many photos in as I can so that I can look back down the track and see how much fun I had. On occasion I have had to speak of the poor excuse for a tourist attraction I have paid money to go see e.g.: Stonehenge..we know how I feel about that so let's move on and see only worthy things, like slot machine after slot machine and fake Paris 😊 And occasionally I will talk about random things, like now because I also like to look back on the fill in times! Oh and P.S Get used to my use of exclamation marks cause I love them!!

Before I left, one of my friends said to me say yes to everything, my response was well maybe 9/10 times but I'm taking his motto on board and I said yes to sleep deprivation by not sleeping at all the whole trip here and now I'm a little delirious. Apparently it's now 10.30am Sunday so I'm kind of living in the past!

So let me start with my fellow passengers sharing the exit row with me. An aussie girl who seemed quite nice although if she asked to borrow my pen one more time there may have been trouble. And then there was my closest neighbour who I am dubbing the Columbian freedom fighter. Well really, if you are going to 1) be Columbian 2) dress in all cammo fatigues 3) have your very long hair in 2 plaited pony tails under a knitted beanie 4) have excellent Columbian style facial hair 5) go the whole trip wearing your ray bans and saying nothing then I'll make up some great fantasy about who you are. I was thinking when he stood up and put his hand into his cargo pants pocket (camouflage remember) that he was going to pull something out that required an undercover airmarshall to jump on him but alas, he just pulled out a muesli bar! I was thinking his name may have been Carlos or Luis but that stereo type was squashed when he wrote down the name Xavier...oh well it killed some time!

So the flight was going along quite nicely, I was catching up on my episodes of the Bachelorette as you do and listening to my music when aussie girl says to me so are we getting off the plane? I looked at her like well I certainly plan to...when she then said we were actually almost in Hawaii and making an emergency landing..with Usher and Simply Red (they should make a comeback) raging in my ears I hadn't heard any of the announcements and didn't realise we had changed flight paths. Some poor guy had a stroke and was in and out of consciousness so they needed to get him off as soon as they could. Then a young girl fainted when she got out of the toilet and cracked her head open and had a concussion and then another lady had a cold and her ears were playing up and then it seems her ear drum burst..dropping like flies I tell you!

We couldn't get off the plane in Hawaii so while technically I have now been there I'm pretty sure the tarmac counts for zip! That was a good hour and a half getting the paramedics on board and refueling so of course by the time we got to LA my connecting flight had well and truly left. They had kindly re booked me though and so that brings me to this computer. I probably should be having a sleep but sleeping’s for the weak..!!!

2 things I have learnt in the past 24 hours.

1) since 9/11 they do not have rubbish bins in the arrivals area

2) Crocs: They're the universe's symbol of a man who's given up hope! (that's thanks to the movie the Dictator but it's so true)

I need a coffee xx

Advertisement



16th September 2012

Aaahhhh u makea me larf
Love the columbian drug mule sittin near ya maggot and yes you shoulda bitch slapped the silly pest askin for your pen... holy shit balls tho mags how many crisis' on one trip can one plane have........ PS.. man rule no man or woman for that matter should own a pair of crocs...dispicabble..... enjoy xxx
16th September 2012

Sensational
What a great way to start off the trip. Most people have to wait until a few days into a trip before anything story worthy happens. Nice.
20th September 2012

The Columbian
That's all very exciting but more importantly did you find out if he was single!!!! LOL

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb