San Francisco to Los Angeles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
December 7th 2011
Published: December 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

San Francisco - Venice Beach, Los Angeles.


This leg of the journey was less about the scenery and more about the tight twisting turns that the train went through as well as a delightful person whom I met.

Ella Murphy is a Lawyer and part time Judge. In her seventies, Ella was a train traveller convert. Throughout the day we had various conversations abou all sorts of things. Ella now finds herself on her own after the recent passing of her husband. She moves very slowly due to the effects of arthritis but she was testimony to the truth that as the shell (body) fails us that is no excuss for the mind to follow suit anytime soon.

Arriving into LA in the middle of the night had Ella catching connecting trains to get home while I had to work out how I relocated myself to Venice Beach. A taxi was the only option which knocked a wee hole in my wallet. I think this leg of the trip took me about 16 hours door to door.

Arriving at the hotel in Venice Beach gave me a stark reminder that not everyone in this country is fortunate to have a home to go to. Homeless people were everywhere sleeping under all sorts of stuff.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0753s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb