Finishing up


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
November 1st 2010
Published: November 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, here ends the Blog entries for my American adventure. However, I would like to add a few more memories:

Vegas Continued:
Day 2 in Vegas, the city that never sleeps; although last night we clearly proved that theory wrong. More gambling and then to the theatre again to see Le Reve. Le Reve is directed by an ex cirque de soleil director, so it was of a similar style, but on a much grander scale. We were sat in the round with a pool of water in the centre. The performers proceeded to dance in the water, do acrobatics, jump from a 60ft platform doing somersaults and all sorts; it is really impossible to describe but was by far the best performance I have ever seen, and everyone agreed.
The last night in Vegas I spent on my own; I went to see cirque de soleils KA; which was ok but not fantastic. Technically very impressive with the set, but the performances didn't have the calibre of stunts I was anticipating. After the show I chilled in my hotel room until an early wake-up call and trip to the airport.
Sitting in the airport at 6am I was surrounded by more gambling; slot machines lined in every available space and people still trying to win back all of their fortunes; it was a very odd sight.
Vegas weddings: I was lucky enough to see some typical Vegas weddings whilst there. The first one was a beautiful affair in the Venician with the Bride perched in a gondola and being entertained by live opera singing. And the second was a fat tattooed bride dragging her dirty dress down the strip holding a bottle of vodka. Classy.
So, off I jetted to San Fransisco, hugely enjoying the view of the Grand canyon from the plane. Arriving in San Fransisco I was greeted by Barbie; Jeni's mum, who took me to in and out burger and then on a car tour of the city. They are clearly a famous family as her grandfather had been the man to come up with the formula for the paint on the golden gate bridge, which stops it from rusting.
I had a proper American Thanksgiving at Jeni's parents, where we ate huge amounts of food and I refused to try any egg-nog. We also went on a another tour of the city, by foot, and Dan insisted on taking us through all the dodgy back-streets where the drug dealers hang out; clearly something I won't be rushing back to continue.

Then back to school and classes, but we did manage to fit in a final Disney trip and meet Peter Pan. We also had a fantastic party in Lolly and Amys flat to celebrate (well, I'm not sure that's the word) our fastly approaching return to the UK.

Overall a fantastic trip, with some incredably happy memories. I hope one day to go back and continue exploring and perhaps get a few more signatures in my Disney characters book!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb