LA Chinatown and downtown


Advertisement
Published: May 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

the Walt Disney Concert Hallthe Walt Disney Concert Hallthe Walt Disney Concert Hall

designed by Frank Gehry of course
Downtown Chinatown LA - 11pm Sat. 15 May
It is now Sat so we skipped Friday. Not that there was much to report there - pretty much a “service” day, as in getting things done. The main was of course involved getting my meds sorted out. A call to a local clinic in Venie Beach told me they only did locals - however they did give me the name of another clinic that was actually relatively close to the CVS I had been to Marina del Rey - strange these people don't know these things. Anyway some advice from the hotel and I was on the Culver City Green bus for $1 to save quite a long walk. It seemed mostly a workers comp type clinic. The girls behind the desk were both hispanic think - its the lingua franca here and every 2nd person seems to speak it Not too long a wait then I saw a guy who took my basics etc then disappeared - thought he might have been the Dr but no?. It was finally after another 10 mins that the man with the stethoscope appeared. He was concerned that I had not taken the Warfarin for 3 days so told me to do an extra 2mg for 2 days to catch up. Script written I was off on the bus back to Windward Circle in Venice. Down to the local CVS and had a turkish coffee off my 'favourite waitress' at the Vardo vegan place just down the road while I waited. Dr had actually given me script for Diltiazem/Cardizem - not isoptin alto I told him that. Queried it as it was to cost $50! - then found out wrong one. She called dr's office and OK'd substitution on phone - she did not actually have it so said go to another pharmacy and they can ring me and they can issue it. Bit of a bit of a work ard with the Poisons regs there I think!

Back to hotel to get my bag and then onto the 333 bus - express to Union Station downtown. Thought that was all going well - and we terminated at Santa Monica - oops, going the wrong way! So then had to find another express bus using the freeway - by which time it was 5.30pm and finally to Union Station at almost 7pm. Then took a huge circle, as given a bum steer by a local shop guy who did not know where Hill St was and sent me in completely the wrong direction. So it was almost 8pm when I got there to the Best Western Dragon Gate. About $100USD inc. tax (14% for a large room with a desk and Net and two large queen beds. But this impression was highly let down by let's have a cup if tea - oh dear only plastic cups!! - I have never struck that in any hotel in the world I think no matter how cheap! That put ne right off the idea. Went fro a walk and did som night time snappies - then a Chinese dinner - egg rolls - basically vege deep fried spring rolls. With a side dish of mustard sauce (??). Then shredded duck and jelly fish and a lot of fried carrot and bean sprouts. The plate was $12 and huge - cannot get over gargantuan sizes of everything. No wonder the pharmacist I spoke to complained of the price of things in Aust. & NZ - must have been food she was referring to. Average main courses (other
China chookChina chookChina chook

very scary nighttime poultry - not to mention Stars and Stripes - spooky!
than the poncy Capri italian are $13-15 and huge portions.

Jumping ahead, tonite Sat. had a “entree” plate (Yanks cant get that right either) in a Japanese restaurant called Octopu. First was an entree plate - 6 sushi rolls, some sashimi. The the real thing - I thought only teriyaki hicken to come - but that, plus some deep fried chicken + rice + slad + miso soup. This was definitely doggy bag material and will get the Chinese guys to microwave it tomorrow. I was thinking 2 meals a day (I had 2 small Chinese bun things at 1pm or a snack) but I think I will just have dinner early at this rate!!

Today - got the missing drug at local pharmacy - then got the Gold metro above ground line to Little Tokyo/Arts District - L Tokyo basically a Japanese mall. Found the Museum of Contemp Art-Geffen annex but as that is $10 - for both on the same day -will do that when I am earlier started. Up the hill to the Gehry designed Disney Hall and wandered around and on that for quite a while - quite magnificent and certainly different from every angle. By then it was starting to get rather cold - so slipped my poly-wool T shirt on under short sleeved shirt (think my clothes are too summery quite yet). Walke ard a bit o the Old Town bldgs ner Macy's - then saw the Octopus Jap diner referred to - and headed in for some fusion sake (pomegranate floured - oh dear!) with the food. Then the Metro home to union Station and there will prob be some pix of that wonderful institution here somewhere.

By the way see that Flight of Conchords are playing at the Hollywood bowl on 30 May - sounds tempting until you add up all the Ticketmaster costs! - ticket $27.50 - + “convenience fee” - $11.50 + order processing fee - $4.05 + print at home fee (the cheapest way you can do it - $2.50 - total cost $45.55!! Getting to the Bowl would be a bit of an exercise - they are also on at UniCal Berkeley- San Fran at the Greek Theatre on 28 May for $45 (+ no doubt extra fees). At least that is at the right end of the state for me at that time. Think I will just stick to walk up ticket for the Dodgers here on Monday - $20 - rather than pay an extra $5 convenience fee on top - do not let this catch on in Australia!!



Sayonara for now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

US flag + gasUS flag + gas
US flag + gas

price is per galon - say $1 per litre?
metro + busesmetro + buses
metro + buses

from elevated Chinatown metro station
bacon v. tofubacon v. tofu
bacon v. tofu

I think it is a board game?.....
Ciy HallCiy Hall
Ciy Hall

from Dept of Transport
grad prom studentsgrad prom students
grad prom students

I took pix for them - he was going to do psychology, she elect.engineering!
car sculpture on the freewaycar sculpture on the freeway
car sculpture on the freeway

sorta indicating a pile up!
Oviatt Bldg -deco glassOviatt Bldg -deco glass
Oviatt Bldg -deco glass

in Grand Ave I think
Union Station hallUnion Station hall
Union Station hall

the overstuffed chairs are so '30s
Union Station decoUnion Station deco
Union Station deco

deco with a dash of mexicana? - love the clock


Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1775s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb