Home


Advertisement
Published: March 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have returned to America.

More specifically, I have returned to my suburb on the outskirts of Los Angeles. It does not appear that much has changed here. However, that does not mean nothing has changed. I am not exactly the same.

My trip to southeast Asia was such an amazing experience, and one that I believe will influence my future. My travels have certainly not ended; they have paused. In addition, I am more open than ever to living overseas.

In spite of all that, it is good to be home. There is much that needed to be handled here, and I am in the process of taking care of those things. You know, those typical things that stack up while away for an extended period, plus a few surprises: mail, bills, jury duty, taxes, laundry, returning phone messages, etc.

As a reader, you may be wondering what a 67 day trip to southeast Asia costs. Since I tracked all of my expenses, I can tell you what I spent. That, however, does not necessarily mean others would spend the same. As for me, my total expenses for 67 days, including airfare, was $4,550 (approximately $70 per day average). Well worth it!

Another interesting thing is that I lost 15 pounds during my trip. Considering how much I ate, that was kind of shocking really. I recognize that part of that weight loss occurred during my illness on Koh Lipe. I also expect part of it can be attributed to muscle loss from not lifting weights as I normally do at the gym. Still, I found it interesting. Does that say something about how unhealthy the typical American diet is? I'm craving Thai food right now in fact (and it's only 7:00 in the morning!)

So, what day is today? It's Thursday, March 16. What does that mean? It is the first day of March Madness (college basketball tournament), my favorite sporting event of the year. Since all of you are surely wondering, let me give you my Final Four picks. 😊 They are UConn, Duke, UCLA, and Boston College. Now if my picks turn out to be horrible, cut me some slack. I haven't seen a college basketball game since I left America (but I'm about to make up for it!) I am going to be watching a ton of college basketball while recovering from a cold that, among other things, has zapped my voice (which likely would have gone anyway after a few college basketball games).

As for my girlfriend, Saai, she made it safely to New Jersey (although it was a rough trip and will be quite an adjustment for her from Thailand). I look forward to visiting her in a couple of weeks.

For friends in town, look for me to socially re-surface next week...

Let's do lunch! Thai anyone?










Advertisement



17th March 2006

Here comes Dave
Welcome back! Count me in for lunch. Lets shoot for next week.
22nd March 2006

Welcome home!
Dave, you truly are the man! Way to go! I love your adventurous spirit and am glad that you have made it back home. I wish we could do lunch. And Elly is going to want to hear all about your new girlfriend!

Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 83; dbt: 0.0967s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb