Supercalifragilistic


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
August 13th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


First up, a huge thanks to Nikki and Lance for their amazing hospitality. I'm going to post the Sherman Oaks Hostel on the Lonely Planet Thorntree so that all future visitors to LA can stay there. The rates are muy reasonable.

Although my hosts weren't quite cool enough to take me to the Viper Room or Chateau Marmont, they did manage to zip me around most of LA, including a cruise along the Pacific Coast Highway (Santa Monica to Malibu, Zuma etc ) by porsche. It's pretty hard to beat that. And I can now drop names like NoHo and WeHo into the conversation, so LA has made me a bit cooler. It's also made me feel much more hardcore - how did we ever go out surfing at Lyall midwinter or at T Bay in that eye-blackening surf???

Hollywood and City Walk (outside Universal Studios) brought out the tourist in me (it had to be in there somewhere). Very fun.

However, despite the many things we did do, here are the top five things we did not do:

1. Buy a 'Reggae for Children' CD at Venice Beach. Incey wincey spider climbs up the water spout mon.
2. Get purified at the Scientology Purification Centre.
3. Stroll along the pier in just a bikini.
4. Gorge at Fatburger (against the odds, that name does intrigue me, although I'm still kinda hoping its 'phatburger').
5. Stalk Britney Spears/David Beckham/etc.

I'm now in Mexico City. Its been a long day, spent mainly on planes and in queues and subways, but I have explored the local hood a litte bit. I'm here for the next two days, so will write again soon when I can write fascinating tales of pyramids, hilarious stories about cholera, and relate amusing snippets about miscommunication.

xx
G

Advertisement



13th August 2008

Hey Miss Gina Missing you heaps back here... but I don't wish you were here... I wish I was there!!! And I just know you're going to torment me with your tales of adventures in far off lands. Disappointed in your lack of enthusiasm to become a fatburger-eating-scientologist wearing a bikini and listening to children's reggae! Where is the openmindedness I ask? Take care, and I look forward to the next installment :) Sooz
14th August 2008

A soothing balm
You know what all that sounds like? I'll give you a clue - its in the comment title.
15th August 2008

ahoy
fatburger. i love it. drink some tequila for me! xx
15th August 2008

Sherman Oaks Hostel
For all those interested, we do have a "Deluxe -- Dine and Dance Package" which includes the Viper Room, Chateau Marmot and Laugh Factory for those willing to pay a little extra. Rates are available upon request. ;)
16th August 2008

ok so i read it again and it made me laugh....again

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb