It is done!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
December 8th 2005
Published: January 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today was the day, the last day of work. After over 13 years with the company, I walked out the door with absolutely no regrets. None. I knew it was time. I absolutely knew it.

I packed up my stuff, said my goodbyes, and off I went.

Having said that, I am very thankful for all those years with the company. Lots of great memories...too many to even attempt to share. I have also made many great friendships with co-workers through the years.

So you may be thinking...you're finished, freedom at least! Well, not exactly. I may be unemployed, yet, it really doesn't feel that way. After all, I am getting paid for unused vacation days through the end of the month. Plus, I am being hired as a consultant next week by the company attorneys for litigation work. Yes, surprise, surprise. Hmmm, my work really isn't done. I am no longer employed by the company and yet I'm working up to 4 days next week for consulting work. This all came about within the last week or so. Once word got out that I was leaving the company, the attorneys made their move.

Well, I'll enjoy a 4 day weekend at least until the consulting work begins in downtown Los Angeles next Tuesday. Once Friday, December 16 hits though, I'm really done, really. The following Monday, I head to Colorado to begin my Christmas vacation!

That is just the beginning though. I leave for Bangkok on January 5, which brings me to another update...

As I was going through the Lonely Planet message board tonight(http://thorntree.lonelyplanet.com/index.cfm), I found something that definitely caught my interest. Now, first off, what is the Lonely Planet? As far as I am concerned, it is the best travel guide out there. They have paperback travel guides in your local bookstore. But the online message board is a great place for interaction between travelers about any travel spot. I have been looking at the Thailand section of the message board on a regular basis. And this evening, I found a message about Air Asia's most recent promotions. Now, I know about Air Asia. After all, I already have a flight from Bangkok to Phuket (pronounced Poo Ket) for $20, and Bangkok to Singapore for $36. What's the latest deal???? What did I find?

How about a roundtrip flight between Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia and Siem Reap, Cambodia for $88. I'll take it! I was thinking that I'd be dropping around $300 for a flight between Bangkok & Siem Reap at some point, but here was a much better deal. In early February as I'm making my way through Malaysia (from Singapore back to Thailand), I'll stop in the capital, Kuala Lumpur to travel to Cambodia to check out Angkor Wat, one of the greatest ruins on the planet. If you've seen Tomb Raider, they did some of the filming from one of the wats (temples) there. Wow! I'm there!

Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, & Cambodia are now all in the itinerary.

Nice...

thanks for reading...there goes Dave!
















Advertisement



7th January 2006

excursion of a lifetime
I've found that it is extremely difficult to leave behind a secure job as well as a safe environment to take off traveling across the world, however, I've also found that my times abroad (although difficult and joyful at the same time)have given me the opportunity of a lifetime to see God at work in my life, to see His amazing creation, and to revel in the beauty around me. I quit my teaching job to teach overseas, and then decided to backpack through Europe! It was worth it! I hope that you have fabulous travels:) Christina

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb