The US of A


Advertisement
Published: March 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I’m lying here on my bed in my Motel6 room eating Peanut Butter M&Ms and drinking Cherry Chocolate Dr Pepper. Where am I? The US of course! I made it here

I know I said earlier that the three hour flight from Melbourne to Auckland was painful, but the 11hr+ flight to LA was a lot worse. The flight itself was fine, but sitting in the one spot for over 11 hours isn’t the most fun I’ve had! On the flight I watched bits and pieces of some random movies and slept as much as I could. Dinner was herb crusted chicken with scalloped potatoes, and breakfast was apple & white chocolate pancakes. I feel like someone from The Castle, telling you all about my in-flight meals, haha.

When we landed in LA the first thing I noticed was the smog, I’m pretty sure I smelt it from inside the plane. Maybe not. So we went through customs and everything, which wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I had visions of being interrogated and then being sent off to a room by myself for further questioning if I said something slightly wrong.

I asked a really nice lady at the help desk how to get to Hollywood, and she told me to go to the buses under the red sign. I spoke to one of he men there, who told me I was at the wrong place, and to go under the orange sign. Off I set. I knew I was at the wrong place, cos the only buses coming through here were those for parking places up the road. Stupid. Off I went back to the old lady, who told me I definitely had to go where she had first told me to, and to try it again. Off I went, avoiding the idiot I spoke to earlier, and spoke to the other guy. He sad my bus would be here soon, and off we went.

Some of the other passengers lived locally, so we went through the suburbs. It looked straight out of one of the Friday movies.. people hanging out on their porches, and looking like they might shoot people. That’s just my mind going straight to TV though I guess.. I saw a Walmart, heaps of drive through 24 hr pharmacies, and a strip club that looked like I was
MaccasMaccasMaccas

The inside of Maccas
a car wash at some stage.

I went and checked into the Motel 6 and had a short sleep. I didn’t know what time it was cos my phone wouldn’t turn on without a sim card. After my nap I went and ventured Hollywood blvd. I was disappointed with the Walk of Fame, because I walked for ages without recognizing a name. I had Maccas as my first meal in America. Let down hey? I just went for what I knew. The inside of the restaurant was cool, it had a Hollywood sign and stuff. I tried some third pounder burger with swiss cheese and mushrooms. Biggest, meatiest, oiliest thing I’ve had in ages. Felt sick afterwards.

I’m really tired, going to head to bed now, I’ve got an early start and big day tomorrow, off to SeaWorld!!

Kirsty xx



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



30th March 2008

Vivaaaaaaaaa Las Vegas!! Oh wait..
Couldn't think of any lyrics to go with LA, but there's prolly heaps!! Like, Surfin' in the USA by the Beach Boys. Hrmm.. I digress.. Anne - I don't think they have round-a-bouts there! I could be lying though.. The highlight of this blog for me was the apple and white chocolate pancakes!! OMFG!! YUM!! luvuuuuu xx

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 38; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb