Another Latino Music Festival


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
September 17th 2007
Published: September 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This weekend I went to a Antidoto Music festival at the Greek Theater in LA. It was all Latino bands, and all Latino people. It was like a music festival in Latin America, but for some reason this time I didn't try to sneak backstage. (Though for a second I was in the press area.) My friend Shannon won tickets to the show. They seated every ticket winner in a row in the exact center of the venue.

We became friends with the gay couple who sat next to us, but only after we drank their wine without them knowing. They then proceeded to serve us wine. It was a pretty good deal, steal a strangers wine, and then accept it as a gift later on. We walked with the gays down to an atrium where they saw a television camera and tried to become stars. The camera wasn't on. There was a girl standing nearby, who went to my university. I didn't know her, I just saw her license plate frame when she parked in front of us.

We all huddled around, as they laughed at my usage of Mexican slang. She thought I had memorized quotes and didn't know what I was saying.

"Pinche Gringo Punatero"
"Did somebody call you that?"
"No, I just really like Molotov."

That joke would make you laugh, if you listened to the infectious rock of Mexican rockers, Molotov.

We became a group and walked back to the center.

I tried to talk more slang to the girl, but her friend, with upside down ears, kept getting in the way. One of the gays got so drunk they tried to leave. But they were in Stack Parking, so they couldn't leave until after the show. So one fell asleep in the car, and the other came back and brought us bottles of water.

At some point I got involved in a conga line that circumnavigated the concert.

Earlier, we had a nice meal of chili fries and chardonnay.

Later our group disintegrated, and it was just me and Shannon. We saw our favorite performer Julieta Venegas. I'd say I'm not that in-tune with popular culture, but if I had to pick one celebrity that I have an unrequited love for, it is certainly this Mexican pop sensation. She is pretty and smart and into werewolves. She gives me butterflies and shit. (Ella me da mariposas y mierda)

At the end of her set they cut the sound, and I was left singing alone. People stared at me. I think they were simultaneously impressed by my knowledge of her lyrics and my vocal butchering of her song.

Anyway, the whole concert was a delightful time. I'd like to get more involved in the indie latin scene. I'll be like the only dude that isn't into Morrissey.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb