Auditions, recalls, and furniture thieveing


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
August 26th 2007
Published: August 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Susan Hallmans partySusan Hallmans partySusan Hallmans party

She is the scariest person I have met here so far (think Roz from Monsters Ink), so we were trying to be on best behaviour.
So, first week of classes is over.

Lets start form the beginning. Firstly; I got recalled for the shows, yay! I got recalls on Tuesday night for;
- 'Frozen' for the part of Nancy
- 'Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead' for the parts of Ophelia and Player
- 'Wyatt Earp' (a new musical)
- 'A New Brain' (a musical) for the part of Rhoda
I was VERY pleased, and very surprised, especially after singing flat and forgetting the words!
So Tuesday night I was running around like a crazy from one to another. I was in from 6 until 10.30
I had to sing 2 songs which I had got and had to learn that day; and a three part harmony (which I just about managed to pull off much to my surprise)
I also had to do various acting pieces.

Then on Wednesday morning, we happened to be walking past the call boards again, and I had MORE call backs.
- 'Frozen' for Nancy
- 'Rosencrantz and Guildenstern' for Gertrude this time
and 'Wyatt Earp'
It was brilliant.

So I had more scenes to act that evening, more running around like a crazy. I had a dance
Susan Hallmans partySusan Hallmans partySusan Hallmans party

More fun at Susans party
audition
for Wyatt Earp; which I completely messed up (I don't think I got a single step right) and an acting audition.

Unfortunately due to having so many I don't think that I did any of them very well; my acting was dull and lifeless and my dancing was appalling. However, the director or R&G did say that I took direction very well. I didn't get into any shows in the end; but to get through to the final round on more than half of them was a big confidence boost and I was delighted.
Lolly and Amy are both in R&G; Lolly as Gertrude, and Amy as Ophelia; so that is good. I may ask if I can sit into some of the rehearsals and observe the directing, as I have now dropped the directing class for modern dance instead as the workload looked ridiculous.

I also had the auditions for the musical theatre class; which I got into so that’s great.

And for audition and rehearsal process there are only 8 of us and we are being taught by an Emmy award winning casting director, so at the moment I seem to be living the
Pillow partyPillow partyPillow party

This is our offering to the pillow party. We guessed that if you live in LA, you must like disney
dream.
Especially as we are relaxing nearly every evening in the Jacuzzi.

Thursday night we went to see Jessica’s (the girl who took us to Venice beach and the fire station) show. She did a cabaret, which was really funny, and we got free cake, so can't complain. Then we went back to hers for a party, but quickly left just as people started to suggest Pictionary.

Friday was fairly chilled; making use of the pool. Whereas today I have been working hard but still making use of the pool (where better place to read my acting books?). Tonight we went on a furniture steal (rescuing it form the trash) and now have a computer desk and a bookcase; we are proper gypsies.

Now all we need is a chair...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

bottomsbottoms
bottoms

We were very excited in the rainforest cafe to be sitting on animals behinds
rainforest funrainforest fun
rainforest fun

Lolly and I in the rainforest cafe
cocktail funcocktail fun
cocktail fun

Flashing glasses provided much enteertainmen. More than the drink infact, which was truly horrible
more cocktail funmore cocktail fun
more cocktail fun

Although we had realised at this point that this drink infact wasn't all that fun
warningwarning
warning

We failed to spot this notice until after we had eaten and drunk our fair share...


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb