Day 15 and 16 - LA and Universal Studios


Advertisement
Published: June 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 15 and 16 - Friday and Saturday 8 and 9 June 2007 - LA and Universal Studios

Well, on Friday morning we left San Simeon via a really nice, fairly straight freeway and made our way to LA. We made pretty good time and arrived around 1pm and went straight to Universal Studios for the afternoon.

I love theme parks!!! lol

There are some great rides here and especially as they are movie themed, I love them even more!! The Mummy ride was a fave with us all, as well as the Jurassic Park ride and we all really enjoyed the back lot tour of the studios. It was so cool to see props and buildings that had been used in real movies.

Some that I remember include:
Wisteria Lane from Desperate Housewives; lake and signs and shark from JAWS!; Munster house; Bates house from Psycho; Studios where CSI is filmed, buildings used in old western movies (lots that were in John Wayne films), plus demonstrations of water floods and fire.
It was amazing. I didn't get to spot any actors though, which for their sake, was probably a good thing. I'd like to think I would remain cool, calm and collected, but we all know better!

On Friday evening after a full day of driving and an afternoon of checking out the rides, we went to dinner at a place called Saddle Ranch, which served great food. Unfortunately, as usual, our eyes were bigger than our bellies and we totally embarrassed ourselves by ordering way too much. I ordered an appetiser of nachos as a main and the plate was twice the size of my head. They really don't understand portion control over here!

After dinner, somehow, I was convinced to ride the mechanical bull..... I think the less said about that, the better! A pic is provided!

So two days of universal and the rides and tomorrow we're booked to do a tour of LA and the stars homes.

A couple of really great days, tiring, but great.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Car demoCar demo
Car demo

two of the cars from the Fast and Furious Tokyo Drift


12th June 2007

but where is the photo of you falling off the bull?
Hi Katiepoos......you forget, I also subscribe to Dean and Sarah's blog...so I know there is also a delightful photograph of you coming off the bull in a rather undignified way! You look like you're having a blast over there. Meanwhile I'm at work dealing with bull rather than riding one. Ex

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb