departure day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
January 25th 2007
Published: January 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

familiesfamiliesfamilies

two families at LAX
Packing and prepping for the airport was a major pain in the hiney!

I finally finished packing and head off to my mom's with Sokhan. Harry was already there. When I got there, my mom was still in frantic last-minute packing mode. Even took over my suitcase because it weighed only 30lbs and the max load is 70lbs. She literally packed the house to take over and I mean even dishes! It's 7p and Sothyson wasn't even here yet. So we called his mom to meet up with us at the airport. The truck was packed full with 5 big boxes and 2 big suitcases. Harry drove the truck straight to the airport while we did one last errand. She was driving everyone crazy wanting to do a million last minute things! Sheesh!

We finally get to the airport around 7pm. Met up with Sothyson's family and had our boxes and bags x-rayed before we could check-in at the EVA counter. One box was opened because of "suspicious" liquids. Turns out my mom packed fish sauce bottles. Luckily, it was ok and they taped it back. We finally checked in! Then my sister drags me to the duty
familyfamilyfamily

on the plane
free store and we shopped. Yay, no taxes! She got a bag and I got a travel bag with a lock and wallet. It was necessary to get new stuff, part of vacation protocol. Plus I didn't want to look like a tourist carrying a backpack everywhere. Easier target for thieves.

We sat around and waited til 930p, our boarding time. Lots of goodbyes and awkward hugs to Melen and Sokhan plus Sothyson's family. We went through x-rays and had to put everything in see-through plastic baggies. Which makes it more convenient for the stuff in the pockets. Then I picked up my duty-free goodies then all of us were loaded onto a bus like cattle! Moo...! Seriously, the bus was full on full and it was smelly because lots of compressed bodies and no air. Ugh!

Finally boarded the plane and longingly passed first class and biz class sections. We got to the poor people seats. It was okay, I couldn't justify paying thousands of dollars unless I was pooping money. My seat was decent enough. Mom, Harry and Sothyson shared a row while I shared row with an old Chinese man. I was comfy with the provided paper slippers, blankee, pillows for my lumbar and my new inflatable neck pillow. It was the most comfortable I could get in a seated position. Even got to read the China & Taiwan newspaper (in English). It pretty much said the same things. We finally starting taxing and took off by 11pm. I choose the special low-cal meals and got mines first. Specials meals always gets served first. Had dinner, cup of noodles, and 'breakfast" meals. The flight was soo long, longer than LA to London!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb