Highway 1!


Advertisement
Published: April 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Check out the wheels!!Check out the wheels!!Check out the wheels!!

Me and the 'Mustang' aka beast. The sound of it made me smile and I was gutted when I had to give her back :o(
I'm gonna include the Pacific coast, places I saw on the way and LA in one go!
So....following from the last entry I left San Francisco in the Mustang, roof down, big smile on face etc....you get the picture ;o)
The drive was absolutley amazing and I would definitly recommend that you do it at some point in your life. The weather was excellent on day 1, which was handy because I done most of the coastal road (good part) in that day! The road was relativley quiet but because they are on cliff edges I took it easy..well kind of. Places I stopped off at included Santa Cruz (they have a really good kfc there lol!), The big Sur (Lots of trees and pickups) and Santa Maria where I stayed in a ghetto motel (wish I had taken a pic of the 'pool'). I'm not really doing the drive any justice so I'll just post some pics when I get a chance so you can see for yourselves how nice it is!
Day 2 wasn't as nice and luckily I got off the coastal road and onto highway 101 where I was making good progress until the traffic just stopped! Apparently there was a forest fire up ahead, so I made the decision to get off the highway and wing it (at this point I still had no map!). Ended up in a little town called lompoc where I finally got a map and ended up taking a much more scenic route through a really weird little town called solvang. I say its weird because they had obviously tried to re-create a 'Typical' english village by attaching planks of wood to the outside of buildings! lol!
I finally arrived in LA after a 2 day drive. The traffic was unbeleivable! 6 lanes on each side of the highway and every lane was at a standstill....this was on a saturday as well!
Now....the plan was to drop the car off at the Marriott hotel at LAX and the find a cheap hostel, however when I was leaving the Marriot a very nice lady from Salt Lake City offered to buy me dinner and a couple of beers so we eneded up chatting for ages and upon her leaving a New Zealander had overheard us talking about me travelling and invited me over for another beer. Anyway I basically ended up
Pacific CoastPacific CoastPacific Coast

This is what it was like all the way on highway 1
checking into the Marriot and going to a 'Gentlemans Club' down the road and getting smashed! This resulted in me not actually seeing any of LA the following day! Although everyone I have spoken to says I didn't miss a thing!

So my next stop is going to be the Cook Islands and I'm really looking forward to chilling on a beach instead of walking around a city in jeans! pics to follow!




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

MatesMates
Mates

Another picture of me and no mates ;o)
SealsSeals
Seals

There were so many seals along the coast.....they stunk
SolvangSolvang
Solvang

This was just a bizzare place. Apparently a Danish community??


17th April 2007

Hi Jonny! Cool! I realize that you spent the night in what I suppose is the most boring town on California, Santa Maria. As you know this is the town I stayed in for my business. By the way, Solvang is a "danish" community so to speak. I visited it on my wine tasting tours in the area. See ya! /Nicolas

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb