Its good to be on the ground


Advertisement
Published: July 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

With the logic of international timelines I landed two hours before I left. I must say the benefit of gaining a day did not compensate enough for the fact that the flight was very very long. I spent most of the bonus day just recovering.

When I arrived at LAX, I thought I would have time to adjust to being in the USA, by staying at the airport club to freshen up, but to my surprise I was out of the airport before I knew it. The way we were directed meant that it was only about 200 meters from the plane gate through customs and baggage to find myself in the airport exit foyer. At this point I had no US money and was still half a sleep. Fortunately I found my way through and was on the shuttle bus to the hotel.

My flight landed just before midday, so I still had a good amount of daylight to have a look around. My first surprise was the hotel was not exactly where I expected. It was more in downtown LA and not near Santa Monica. Anyway its still pretty good and its convenient for me to base my self for a few short days. I have not faced any real culture shock yet, but lots of basic services are different and this is interesting.







Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



27th July 2005

You're there!
Glad to hear you've made it there safely, Grant! xxM

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1001s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb