66 in LA County - Updates


Advertisement
Published: April 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Went out on the road yesterday to shoot some more photos and check into anything that needed updating. Not much to report since my last trip out. The old Evergreen Motel in Duarte is still fenced off, with only the main building still standing. Duarte has erected their Andreas Duarte statue finally, but I couldn't get a good photo of it, so I will have to head back out one (sunny) morning to get morning light on it.

Noticed a couple of development filings along the way that I will need to look into, but nothing major. Also noticed that the old Sheraton (?) on Huntington right at the 210 is undergoing a major renovation and restoration, with a name change. I THINK it was going to become a Courtyard by Marriott, but under a different name. I'll have to look into that.

I started to take note of a lot of the residences yesterday, something I didn't used to do so much. It was interesting seeing the differences in styles and architecture. What was EXTREMELY interesting was trying to date the houses, and seeing how development residentially affected the commercial and industrial development around it. This is definitely something I will pursue more investigation into.

I skipped the middle (Arroyo Seco) section of 66 yesterday since that is the area that I travel the most. Once I hit Pasadena I superslabbed it to Santa Monica and picked up 66 heading east from there. Not much new happening on the Santa Monica end. However, Santa Monica Boulevard from Beverly Hills west to Sepulveda has had the widening part of the project completed finally. What used to be Little Santa Monica Boulevard is now eastbound SMB, and Upper Santa Monica Boulevard is now westbound SMB. It's all paved and smooth, too, at least eastbound. It's a nice drive now. But it really distracts from the road, in my opinion, from a 66'er's perspective. It's really hard to see what is actually left out there still.

I did note several old hotels still in place, including one or two to look into for inclusion in the National Historic Route 66 Federation's Dining and Lodging Guide. Some interesting and neat stuff.


NEXT TRIP REPORT - Leaving for Chicago on Thursday, will file next week when I return.

Since I shoot 35mm film still, and not digital, photos won't be up for awhile, and will be posted on my photography blog later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb