American Booty: Bowp Bowp


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
September 15th 2006
Published: September 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I got up real early to make it to the Western Union first thing and I noticed some people had come in really late last night into the dorm. One was already awake and his name was Hiro - he had Japanese heritage to his credit but he was born in Mexico. He was in Santa Monica just a few weeks out from studying biochemistry at UCLA. I chatted to him as I checked out a workmate’s MySpace. We both laughed when I tried to close it down but KillSwitch Engage blared out through the PC speakers, possibly waking up the rest of the hostel. After checking email (without the inhabitancies of the Aussie nerds playing poker), I ventured down to the Western Union on 4th St, just two blocks up from the hostel. As soon as I finished there I had to race back to the hostel in time for an 8.30am shuttle to LAX. Although my plane was leaving at 11.15am, I could only imagine the strict security at the airport. Thoughts of another easy Western Union transfer were dashed when I got there…

SUMMER HOURS
Monday-Friday: 9.30am til 9.30pm

You can only imagine
Kaz @ LAXKaz @ LAXKaz @ LAX

The first time we hit Starbucks...and probably the last time too!!!
my rage.

In desperation, I weighed up going to one of the other places in Santa Monica that did Western Union but they were too far to walk and that would make it unsafe. Of course, I still had those two girls on Venice Beach running for their lives in my mind. I headed back to the hostel and chatted with Hiro for a while. I watched the 8.30am airport shuttle come past and I watched them go. There were some Aussies on this shuttle, heading back home. A week ago, I felt like joining them.

Soon enough, the Western Union was open and I got my much-needed cash. Thanks Pawla! I raced back to the hostel and then made the mad dash to LAX in a cab, but by the time I got there, I missed my plane. Although I got there at 10.35am, there was security to pass through and it was very busy today. Not even an express check in would save me.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb