A thirty six hour day!


Advertisement
Published: February 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

2008

We flew north, over Iceland and Greenland , strangely all in daylight.

I remember some working days when I wished for a thirty six hour day - should just have got on the plane to LA then!! The journey over was slightly surrealistic - there was no darkenss in all of those extra hours, so we were trying to sleep in broad daylight. In spite of flying north over Iceland, Greenland and parts of Canada.

However, I arrived in Los Angeles at dusk and could see the 405 with all its rush hour traffic just as we came into land. The customs was a 'lengthy' procedure and I can see why so many people just fly straight onto New Zealand, rather than go through with all of the queuing and questioning!! The sniffer dogs came round and we had to put all our bags down for them to examine - lots and lots of oranges were found, but nothing much more.

My first mistake was to come out of the main entrance to look for a telephone booth - the rather glitzy taxi men in stretch limos thought that Christmas had come as far as fares were concerned! So with a quick return back into the entrance I found the booths and tried to phone the hostel. Nowhere did it tell me I had to put a number 1 at the beginning of the hostel number, so I asked the lady selling sweets how to use the phone - she was very kind to me!! Now I know how to use a public phone in the US! (Another key life skill learnt.)

The hostel is kept by very friendly people - A Malawian, a Mancunian and another Brit - the only American comes from Ohio!

I spent today on the beach, parts of which I recognise from LAPD programmes so that was fun! Yes, I did find the body builders, working up a gentle gleam on the machines at the edge of the beach, their gold jewelry adding to the shine! I managed not to laugh, but really!! There were lots of praying surfers either sitting or kneeling on their board in the water, waiting for the ideal roll of surf. There was not much by way of action and from a distance I was sure they looked like a stationary pod of dolphins!

I had lunch on the second pier - a New Orleans shrimp dish which was delicious, then walked back along the main streets. There are some fantastic shops in this part of LA, and yes I was tempted!! (I am calling in on the way back from NZ...) Tomorrow I am doing the tourist bus trip, so Hollywood here I come!

Advertisement



7th February 2008

gardens in nz
Glad you got there safely! Gosh, what a learning curve... It's known as the fruit and nutcase capital of America. The best way to get the most from it is to go with the flow!!! Have to tell you that we watched this prog on tv with monty don visiting gardens in nz and austrailia. They were so fascinating. Can't wait to go to nz myself. There was one beautiful one near auckland called Ayrelies. Maybe Wendy will know of it. Looks to be worth a visit if you have time on your schedule. Just off to the gym. Have planned to spend a couple of hours there. Then a bike ride if the weather brightens and then it's the Globe tonight where some of your pals will be!! Stay safe. Love Shirl. PS Still waiting for the mic to arrive so tht I can use skype. Enjoy your meal with Paulie, Thurs.
7th February 2008

And that's just for starters!!
Hi Lizzie P. Good to hear that you have had a good start!! Hollywood sounds good, wonder if you will be 'discovered'. Hmmm! Never expeienced such a range of time zone myself, must seem strange. England won first two 20/20 games in NZ fairly easily and warming up for the real stuff when the Test Matches start. Do hope you get the chance to see them. Go for it Liz - memories are better than dreams. Love, John
7th February 2008

not jealous
I had a lovely walk around pittsford water, much be much nicer than being in LA and walking along the beach in warm sunshine. But I could of course be wrong. Have a great time and keep us posted. Back to W*£! tomorrow. Lovely earlies (07.00 am) start. You know how much I love that...
8th February 2008

Glad you arrived safely. I'll catch up with you on Skype when I'm back from London. Have fun with the rest of your time in LA.
8th February 2008

LA LA LAND!
ENJOY!

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb