Leaving on a jet plane, don't know when I'll be back again...


Advertisement
Published: July 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dearest Family and Friends,


The time has come for me to embark on my greatest adventure yet. I know there has been a lot going on in the world recently and even in the places I am going to today, but rest assured I am not scared. At this point I am anxious and ready to get lost. I am excited about all that I am going to see and experience. I feel confident in myself that I tend to keep my head above water and am street smart. I know being in a completely new place (and many of them) can be daunting, but I am ready for the challenge. It is not like I am the first girl to travel around Europe alone... My amazing friend Kelly said to me after she traveled on her own for 3 months in Europe that when you are done you feel as though you can accomplish/do anything. I felt that way after teaching English in China and I know I will feel that way again when I come home. It is an amazing feeling.

I stayed awake until 4am today nd got up at 7am, yet I feel rested. No doubt I will pass out on the plane though, that is just how I roll. I packed my backpack to the brim, of course I should not have, but I will leave anything I feel fit as I go. I have Kashi bars from my super grandma to last me for breakfast for 30 days, it has created a bulge on the top of my bag, but we know that won't stay! On that note, I have decided against taking my laptop, 1. there is NO room for it 2. I was unable to back up my stuff 3. I would hate to lose all my pictures...

I came to the computer last night to print out my flight reservations and look up some hostels, long story short I printed my flight ticket from London to Brussels that I paid $100 for... well it is for June 2, 2008. Do not let this scare you, but let it be a wake up call to me... I was in such a hurry to get that ticket I somehow completely messed up. I was very irritated to have done that and for it to not be refundable or exchangeable or anything, but I bit my tongue and went online and bought a ticket for $200 for the same darn flight! So now I have spent $300 just to get from London to Brussels, that is like spending $300 for a one-way to Vegas from LA. grr, I hate to waste money. Over it now...

So, here I go, that was a lot of jibber jabber for nothing but I wanted to update you. I will be leaving the house in 20 minutes.

WOO HOO.

Please stay in touch, I love to get love!

LOTS OF LOVE-
Erin

Advertisement



1st July 2007

Be safe and i love you , Daddy
1st July 2007

Woo hooo!
Wow Erin, Your life is so exciting, I envy you. I bet you gonna have such a good time traveling. Take a lot of pictures and make sure you send them to me when you get back. Oh and be sure to try out the foods you've never had before (as long as they're not too expensive of course). Safe travels, Athur
2nd July 2007

Great attitude!!! Can't wait to hear more about your trip
4th July 2007

carpe diem
i don't think i need to say much. you know how i feel and how excited i am for you to see the world and understand some of the things that i experienced, but from your own eyes. we're proud. come back to us safely.
4th July 2007

Let's be sure to hook up and talk all about your trip so you can give me some tips for my future Euro adventure! I'm so excited for you. Safe travels.

Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb