SoCal Sojourn


Advertisement
Published: July 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Segway ManiaSegway ManiaSegway Mania

Jeremy shows off his moves.

I can pronounce Sepulveda!



Apparently the only vacations I take lately are partly funded by the my employer... not a bad gig if you can get it. This time, after working at a UW off-site orientation in Orange County, California, and getting to see my family in Fountain Valley, I ventured up to LA to hang out on the beach, eat way too much Del Taco (seriously people... it's good bad-for-you food) and visit some friends.

I spent the week speeding around in a PT Cruiser, which I am convinced they rent to all the tourists so we are easily identifiable. I kicked off my downtime by purchasing a $10 beach chair, $12 sunglasses and hitting the sand. Of course I got sunburned-- it's what I do when I venture out of rain-soaked Seattle for any length of time, but it was a good feeling to have a beach chair at the ready in the trunk of the PTC. Eventually there was a swing by PSK, a day I paid dearly for breaking my "no tequilla" rule, a parking ticket in Burbank, an unfortunate visit to Bob's Big Boy, and the fantastic realization that In N Out Burger is
The Great GazooThe Great GazooThe Great Gazoo

There is no way to look cute in those helmets.
open til 1am.

Jeremy joined me for the last weekend of my mini vacation, and besides hanging out in Santa Monica for a good deal of the trip, and eating a lot, we also rented Segways for a few hours, which let us zoom past the Santa Monica Pier and through Venice Beach at top speeds of 12 miles per hour. It was so easy to operate-- I highly suggest renting one or taking a Segway tour if you're able to. Unless of course you're the type of person who doesn't like to attract attention (these things attract A LOT of attention) or, as Jeremy pointed out, if you don't particularly like wearing a helmet that will have you looking a bit like The Great Gazoo from "The Flintstones".

Overall, a good mental health break (not to mention a good way for me to ease into this Travel Blog). Thanks to Dan & Ilya for the hospitality and entertainment-- I know that the beach chair you inherited will be put to good use, Dan. I also have to plug Virgin America for the satellite TV on the flight home. You can't beat loads of entertainment located on the seat back
J & jJ & jJ & j

Out in Hermosa Beach
in front of you. TV, movies, games and a way to annoy your neighbors with a chat/IM feature? Priceless. And by "priceless", I mean at no cost to me, since my flight was paid for by UW...



Next stop: South Africa! Keep up with my travels through this site! www.mytb.org/JenKitch


Advertisement



10th July 2008

Seriously...
the PTC should come with the beach chair in the trunk when you pick it up! Loved your first blog!!!

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb