Last week in the states


Advertisement
Published: May 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This past month has been quite busy for me. I have been working 4-5 shifts per week at St Joseph's and at Tarzana hospital, while also arranging my trip, and getting everything set up before I leave. With just a week left (I am writing this from work and it is Sunday night at 1:15 am and I am leaving next week Sunday am at 2:00 from LAX) I hope everything will fall into place once I reach Guatemala. I am mostly worried about my first day in Guatemala. My plan will arrive at 8:30 am in Guatemala City, and from there I will take a taxi to a bus station. Then I will take a 5 hr bus ride to Quezaltenango (Xela), and from there another taxi to my school. What a day! I just pray that everything will run smoothly and that I will not loose anything or have anything stolen. I feel a bit of apprehension, but I think once I am down there I will feel stronger and more confident.

After my 8 weeks of studying/volunteering, Alfonso will be joining me July 3rd. We will travel together in Guatemala, before meeting up with our good friend Brandy. She will be flying in July 20th from Los Angeles. All three of us will spend the next two weeks traveling in Guatemala, Belize, and a small part of Honduras. I am excited that Brandy is coming- I have travelled with her once before to Hawaii last summer. She is really into planning and reading up on information (like me) and our minds think similarly.

Tomorrow I will be meeting up with my Guatemalan family the Lizama's. I am excited to see them before I leave, they are very kind people. Till next time..

Advertisement



8th May 2006

Hi Becky, I am enjoying reading your blogs. I will pray that your long day of travel will be pleasant and I will pray for your safety and that all your things arrive with you. I am happy to hear that your boyfriend and friend will be meeting up with you while you are there. Take care! I am proud of you! Aunt Bonnie
9th May 2006

All is well
My girl, I know there's alot to think about and much to do to get ready. Probably something will be left undone, but it's going to be OK. You've done all the hard work of preparing, now is the time to enjoy the journey. Love you, take care, stay in touch. MOM
12th May 2006

Call me
Hey B, don't forget to call your siblings before you go. :) Have a great time!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb