*In Training*


Advertisement
Published: June 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

DaxDaxDax

... former Mac Genius, can't you tell.
Hey, Calone here...

So, less than two weeks now before the big trip. I did my first real hike w/ a 25lb pack over the weekend. I nearly died, Dax barely broke a sweat. We hiked @ Temescal Canyon in the Pacific Palisades (just north of Santa Monica) and although the hike got a little difficult for me, I was determined to reach the "waterfall" which turned out to be no more than (what looked like) a leaky faucet. With that and the fact that they don't allow dogs past a certain point, I doubt its a hike that I'll do again. It served its purpose as a reality check (for me) and a test that my North Face boots really are water proof 😊 The highlight - The little Arts & Nature school that is situated in the canyons. "Seven Arrows". Simply adorable!!!

After the hike we headed over to Borders to do some more research and attempt to come up with a bit of an itinerary. Its been 3 days and our plan has changed well over 3 times. We'll get it together tho! (Then we'll get there and everything will change again, lol)

Anyway,
Seven Arrows PreschoolSeven Arrows PreschoolSeven Arrows Preschool

...the arts & nature school that I spoke of.
the deal now is for me to get my shots (tomorrow @ 2pm - FOUR OF THEM) and begin packing and repacking my pack until its under 20lbs. My sore collar & hipbones are my modivation.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

HmmHmm
Hmm

Dax thinking of a plan for us to get our kids into Seven Arrows...


13th June 2007

How yu lke me now!
You guys are da bomb for doing this month long trip together. I wish Tiku and I could get away and do that right now. I can't wait to see the pix. Dax, thanks for taking such good care of my girl I love her and feel cool with you watchin out for her. Love Ayesha.
14th June 2007

I was suppose to go on that training hike with you guys. I was really surpised there would be a waterfall. However, after your description it makes more sense that I haven't heard of it b4.... lol. I know you guys will have so much fun. It will be an experience that 99% pf couples will never do together so be proud! Be very proud! I look forward to seeing some pics.
14th June 2007

nerrrrrrrrrd.
unfortunately brion, you're wrong :) upon learning that you would no longer be accompanying us on our venture, we chose a less impressive destination. there is definately a waterfall @ big santa anita... proof: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v705/camerafodder/IMG_4539.jpg moral of the story, next time... JUST COME!!!!!

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0742s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb