LA, LA Land of Dreams?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » Long Beach
September 9th 2006
Published: September 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Long BeachLong BeachLong Beach

The team.
Well here we are! The land of dreams, envy, lust, greed, fascination. A land like no other, a magetropolis that promises so much for some and contempt from others. All I have to say is WOW!

Decked out in sunny long beach, the scene was set for anarchy and debeauchery. Aided by a few recruits from our Amtrak experience we attempted to achieve both on our first night there. Sacramento Police Dept Officers you sure know how to bring the party. Or be led astray, we are not too sure yet...

Hung over and in a state that can only be described as emotionally drained, Universal Studio's was of mild interest the next day. Thinking back it is actually quite an exciting place, but at the time was hardly a highlight as we dragged our sorry selves from attraction to attraction. I think I had better do again properly. Oh how fatty burgers how a knack for soothing withered souls though - yum!

The next day saw my beautiful travelling companions depart for Alberta Canda, in search of fame and fortune in Calgary, haha. So I battled on, four more days to explore the sprawling city that lay
Long BeachLong BeachLong Beach

Goodtimes!
in front of me, where to start? where to begin!

Well, Hollywood of course! After walking an hour in the wrong direction down Hollywood Blvd I finally made it, the tourists appearing out of nowhere, snap happy and placing themselves next to the names of their favourite stars. Not sure if you'll ever actually spot any of the 'stars' here, its not the nicest part of town. I did speak to someone who claimed to be the next fiddy cent though, he CD was actually pretty good - poor bastard.

Santa Monica drew my attention the next day, its famous pier, burrito's on the beach and 1.75 Dos Equos oh yeah! This place has it on! A wee bit overcast, but I saw potential. What a great beach to have so close to the city.

On the way back from the beach temptation gave in to a stroll down Rodeo Drive. Never before have I felt so poor, or so tempted to jump out in front of the Lamborghinis cruising past. The women, rediculously georgeous, yet seemingly blind to anyone not wearing Gucci or Prada. I say with some shock and discontempt that they didn't come to
Universal StudiosUniversal StudiosUniversal Studios

Film set off War of the Worlds. Decidedly average film I thought, amazing set though!
the most expensive three block of shops in the world to pick up a raggety backpacker with less money in the world than daddy carries to the newspaper stand! How come?! And no honey you cannot make donations to the homeless via credit card, haha still haven't stopped pissing myself about that one!

No stars out that day either, well except for an absolutely macking Ferrari F50. Most shop assistants there think they are stars anyway so I could have just asked one of them to sign an autograph, that is of course if they weren't chasing me out of their stores!

Thanks to my wonderful cousin and Jo for their gracious hospitality. It really means the world to a broke traveller! Great to meet you Vanessa and co. And how could I forget, Cass and Leace two DRAINING friends that i luff to bits! Thanks for a fantastic trip!

Onto the next!

JTripper.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Universal StudiosUniversal Studios
Universal Studios

Waterworld! This was a good show for sure! Even enjoyable when rediculously hungover...
Universal StudiosUniversal Studios
Universal Studios

Now where have I seen this thing before?
HollywoodHollywood
Hollywood

Chinese Gardens. Oh yeah, good to see they've left a bit of space for me.
HollywoodHollywood
Hollywood

I couldn't find Jason Gunns' star... hmmmm must be here somewhere :P
Santa MonicaSanta Monica
Santa Monica

twas a bit overcast this day, so the shots of the beach didn't come out very well. Here's the entrance to the pier instead, yay!
Rodeo DriveRodeo Drive
Rodeo Drive

Most expensive three blocks of shopping in the world! If you email me when you see this I'll send the gifts I bought you when I was there.
Rodeo DriveRodeo Drive
Rodeo Drive

Good evening sir, please remove your feet from my pavement, you cannot afford to stand here. Got a spare 100000?!


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb