Day 1 - Travelling to Los Vegas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » LAX
May 25th 2007
Published: May 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, here we are at LAX - Los Angeles Airport. Maybe I should give a bit of a background on who 'we' is. 'We', at the moment, is Toni and me. I met Toni back in 2003 when we did a contiki tour of Europe together. After that Toni invited me (or did I invite myself?!?) to join her in Egypt in Feb 2005 and this trip to the US, Mexico and Canada is our next adventure! Given we haven't killed each other on previous trips, this one should be a walk in the park (famous last words..?).

We're in transit on our way to Las Vegas, our first real stop in the great US of A. We spend two nights there at the Bellagio, then check out and go slightly down (or could be up, I'm not really sure!) the strip to Excalibur, the hotel where we'll be meeting up with some other travel buddies. They are Sarah and Dean, my best friend and her husband from WA and Jen and John, the English couple that S&D and I met on our trip to China last year.

Once we hook up with them, we'll be spending about 2 weeks travelling around the West coast of the US together. We spend 5 nights in Vegas, then head off to Death Valley Yosemite, San Fran, Hearst Castle and Los Angeles. That takes us up to about the 12th of June, when Toni and I head off on our own. S&D head back to Oz and J&J head back to Chicago, I think, then home to the UK (where they'll be readying themselves to have me land on their doorstep in the not too distant future, gorgeous people that they are).

Toni and I then head on to do a Geckos tour of Mexico for 17 odd days, then head back to the US to hit Orlando and the theme parks. From there, its up to NEW YORK city baby! A week there with a stop in the middle in Washington. After that, its a week spent exploring Canada, specifically Toronto, Niagara Falls, Quebec and Montreal.

After that, which takes us up to the 20th of July, I fly off to London to spend a year (hopefully) working and travelling and Toni continues on for a month in Peru with a stopover in Thailand and then home to Oz.

I think that sums up our trip!
We should be getting into Vegas around 1.30pm, in time to check in and do a bit of exploring before crashing.

Will keep you posted with updates as often as I can and will try to include some pics, so its not too boring!
Love Kate
xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb