Universal Studios


Advertisement
Published: May 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The unashamed big day out at the fair, my last trip to a themepark was a cold wet day 2 years ago to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, so Universal Studios was a little different, in that I did not get hypothermia and there were no 13 year old girls in the queue getting high on 'poppers'

Did the tour, Back to the Future, Terminator 2, Jurrasic Park, Backdraft, Shrek 4D (this is getting touristy) but the best was Waterworld (based on megaflop Kevin Costner turkey) big water, fire, action show that did the rare thing of actually impressing me.

The complex it's worth noting is in a striking setting amongst the hills and i was lucky to arrive on a relatively queue free day. Could not help but notice the familys stuffing themselves with popcorn and soda, these people really are eating themselves to death!

A note on the 'solo travel' thing, a lot of people before I left did not seem to like the idea, others said it was the best way to do it, 10 days or so into the trip I'd say it's not easy as such, there have been moments where I wished I had an old friend to go eat or drink with, but I've met fellow solo travellers and we are perhaps playing a harder game than the couples or groups but we know the next 'new friend' is just around the corner, usually cooking pancakes at breakfast, or even just reading a noticeboard in the corridor. Some I know I"ll never see again, others I've got a feeling I'll bump into again.

All in all, it's a blast!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb