Day 4


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » Hollywood
November 24th 2008
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

DAY 4 - Monday, 24 November 2008
When in Rome - or Hollywood in this instance what do you do? You got to Universal Studios. I think its one of the 6th amendments.
Hang on - update on last night. Went back down to West Hollywood for a few drinks and met a few guys called Daniel, Jonathon and couldn’t pronounce it let alone spell it - so I call him Taxi - only for the fact that he was kind enough to give me a lift back to my hotel rather than catch the bus. Daniel, was from Hondouras, Jonathon from LA, formerly Ohio and Taxi, from Mexico. Spent the night talking politics and semantics before Taxi dropped me home just after midnight.
Spent the day drifting bout Universal Studios - think I managed to get around to see everything. The studio tour hadn’t really changed since I saw it when I was 14 - and still the same lame tour guide jokes. But that’s Hollywood. The Water World stunt show was pretty amazing - and wet. Kevin Costner may have had a flop at the box office with this, but allegedly it’s been voted the No 1. tourist show in the World - I’m guessing that was an American poll… but you can see they spent a bit of money putting it together including a plane that crash lands in the middle of the water arena from nowhere. That’s something else about Universal - they love spraying people with water - I don’t think there was an attraction that didn’t spray water at some point. Fortunately it was a beautiful sunny day so you dry off pretty quick.
The Backdraft FX show was the other standout - whole lot of fire going on there. The last point of mention was the Movie Magic FX show - where I got pulled out of the crowd to do the voice dubbing for their sound stage piece - I think I’ve been type cast…
Did actually get to the Laundromat this evening for a load of socks and pants - exciting stuff I know, but I was amazed at how many people do their washing in a Laundromat - must be the place to hang on a Monday night… shame the crowd weren’t that purty.
On the move tomorrow to Vegas for a spot of indulgence - who am I kidding, this is whole holiday is all indulgence but this Vegas part is for a touch of extravagance. Anyhoo - more on that tomorrow. Just have to work out how to get back to the airport but it shouldn’t be too hard - just two trains and a short bus trip. I love LA….



Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb