Sitting on the Edge


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » Hollywood
October 23rd 2005
Published: October 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Changing Coasts


Greetings from Hollywood!

Caitlin and I have safely arrived in LA. Our flight from the East Coast was a shaky start to our global adventures. Melissa (Caitlin's girlfriend) had kindly agreed to drive us from MA to Bradley International in Connecticut. After a hectic morning at the Head of the Charles, they picked me up from the Starfish house of love in JP and we quickly got on our way! Our initial excitement was soon dampened, literally. There was pouring rain, slick road and stand-still traffic on Route 9. To top it all off, we realized in the car that we had miscommunicated about the departure time. Our flight was scheduled to leave at 5:30 instead of 6:30!

Melissa's excellent driving skills and her all-weather tires were put to the test. I placed a frantic phone call to Erin P and tested her local knowledge of Connecticut interstates. After the most tense moments I have spent in a car, we realized that the roads were clear enough to make it to the airport in time. Phew! We arrived, checked in our 60 lbs-plus backpacks and went on to security.

Standing in line, a small balding guard with glasses inspected Caitlin's boarding pass. Before I could step up for my turn, he quickly yelled back to Caitlin, "Wait a second!" Frowning at her slip, he whipped out a big, red permanent marker and made large swipes at her documents. He grabbed mine and did the same. He ushered us to the side of the normal line and we surrendered our carry-ons. Through glass windows, we watched guards swab every inch of our bags with latex gloves. I stared at a woman squinting at my Nalgenes, wondering if they were full of lighter fluid. Caitlin gave me a look that said, "Could this get any worse?" I shrugged and spread my arms and legs for a third guard who began a full body search. For the next ten mintues I stood with my belt, coins and sweatshirt held high above my head, assuring the guard that I did NOT have metal screws inserted into my upper right thigh.

After we were cleared as non-terrorists, the guards were pleasant enough to explain that one-way flights usually raised a red flag for security. It was an interesting fact, but a visual I could do without before boarding a plane. Our flight went on without further drama. With a short layover in Cinncinati, Caitlin and I arrived in LAX.

Here we are staying my friend, Karen (Wellesley Volleyball, '03). She and Akiva (also Wellesley Volleyball, '03) picked us up from LAX and promptly took us out for ice cream sandwiches. Lucky for us, her cozy apartment is within spitting distance of Hollywood and Sunset Boulevards, the Walk of Fame at Mann's Chinese Theater and the Hollywood Bowl. There are more second rate movie impersonators, European tourists and small sunglass kiosks than I can count.

We depart for Fiji Monday evening.

Next entry... the white sandy beaches of Fiji!

Much love,
Meesh





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Julie AndrewsJulie Andrews
Julie Andrews

I LOVE the Sound of Music
Frank SinatraFrank Sinatra
Frank Sinatra

Shout out to Mom


24th October 2005

Terrorist
I always thought you were a little suspicious... Have a great time! Can't wait to hear about the trip!
28th October 2005

Yay!
I'm glad you made it safely to LA despite all the craziness (isn't that what travelling is all about?). Good luck, have fun and I will keep in touch. :)

Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb