test entry


Advertisement
Published: April 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I've never blogged before, and don't even share much on facebook, but this is my first test post and I'll try to write as often as possible. There's not much to share at the present time, but here's a couple of items to chew on for anyone who took the time to venture here already.

a) I am extremely unprepared at the present time. The next couple of days are going to be very hectic. Probably 48 hours of straight laundry and packing. If anyone has any advice on items I should bring with me, hit me up.

b) The first cities on my itinerary are as follows... Friday for KC, Fort Lauderdale on Tuesday morning and then Grenada Tuesday night, where the real trip begins.

c) My new phone number for the next week and when I return is 424-247-4473

Oh, minor details, what is it exactly I'm doing? I've been wanting to travel the world for an extended period of time for the last couple of years. Responsibilities and probably a bit of fear always held me back. The lease on my house is up at the end of May, and I was wanting to switch jobs, so it became pretty obvious that the time was now or never, and I chose now. I found a family from Jersey, UK (an island located in the English Channel) that had been sailing around the world and needed another crew member using the website www.sailingnetworks.com. One thing led to another and before I knew it we were skyping and I had agreed to join them in Grenada by April 22nd to jump on the boat.

Before I leave though, I am tackling another bucket-lister by going skydiving with my good friend Mark Raabe in SD and celebrating with some of my oldest friends in Lawrence, KS next Saturday one last time. Needless to say it should be a great sendoff.

I'll be out to sea with them for about 3 months, stopping in Aruba, Panama, The Galapagos and some of the French Polynesian Islands (Marquesas and Tahiti). From the French Polynesian Islands I'm going to depart their boat, sometime in July or August, and fly to New Zealand and Australia. From Australia it's onto SE Asia and Malaysia/Thailand/Cambodia/Vietnam and then who knows. If I have enough time I'd like to travel to Nepal and India, possibly Tibet, but we'll see. My schedule once departing the boat is not set in stone as I'm trying to plan it around whenever friends can meet me out for certain legs of it.

Which reminds me, if anyone wants to join in at any part of the trip please let me know. If you have specific places you'd like to visit I'm game for whatever and very flexible presently. I'm planning on doing this adventure as cheaply as possibly and would love the company.

I'll write again next week while in Fla waiting to fly into Grenada and have more details.

Word.

From Hermosa Beach - Whit

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb