Swathing


Advertisement
Published: May 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It’s almost over! Two more days of heat and then we leave for Minneapolis. Starting to think that a month of vacation may be the perfect amount of time. This is the longest vacation we have ever taken, it will be almost 3 weeks by the time we get home. I’m lucky that I have a job I love so going home isn’t as painful as it could be. Plus I should get back before my staff realizes that I’m not really as useful and necessary as I present. The cat doesn't miss us at all. Thinks she's in paradise at my mom's. Appears there are no rules there whatsoever and everything she does is cute. Including laying on the dining room table!

The last few days have been uneventful. I’ve had some ‘poor Ed’ comments from some of my loyal followers. At first I was going to fold to the pressure and keep all the Ed stories out of the blog. But if I did that I really wouldn’t have anything to write about. And really, I am barely telling stories here. And the ones I am telling I am, as Dan Maltais would say, toning them down so that they are believable. For example, Ed’s favourite word this trip is ‘douche bag’. Not one story has included who and why he is using this term.

Friday was more house hunting. Not many of them have pools, which is a requirement, for many reasons. First, we aren’t that social. Second, Ed has some discomfort with the idea of many children (and some adults) urinating in pools. Third, I prefer as small an audience as possible when wearing a bathing suit. Fourth, naked Ed. So we decide that we will go to a pool place to see how much a pool would cost. It is about 104 degrees out. We drive 20 minutes down the highway to find the pool place. Ed has found it online and written down the address. However, when we get there – no pool place. Seems the recession and crashing housing market hasn’t been good to the pool business. It was a nice day for a drive.

We are now fully in bar-b-que mode. Had hamburgers yesterday, steak today. Makes it seem like summertime! Ed seems to think that no one can see him in the backyard, which faces the golf course. I should say, is completely open to the golf course. I suggest putting on pants but he resists.

This morning was a pool day for both of us. We were out together for about an hour and a half. I was completely covered in sunscreen. Ed had on none as usual. One of us has a very burnt back! How can that be? Too hot to run again, so more aquabics. Ed is floating on a pool lounger. I look up and again he is killing himself laughing. I am thinking this might be reason five for my own pool! Apparently I make quite a face.

I was going to the Macy’s one day sale, but couldn’t bring myself to the whole shower, dry the hair, makeup thing. So I spent the day at the pool. Fully covered with long sleeves. It was still great! Ed went golfing at La Quinta Mountain Course.

Speaking of showering, Ed has adopted swathing – a term I found reading Redbook (which I shouldn’t admit to reading. It’s not really ‘reading’). This is when you are swimming frequently and therefore believe that because you have spent so much time in water, that you are clean. Swimming + Bathing = Swathing. Not a bar of soap in sight...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb