A Distant But Precious Memory


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Kingsburg
October 19th 2021
Published: October 19th 2021
Edit Blog Post

I am reading one of great travel writer, Paul Theroux's Deep South. He talks at length about what travel writers write about, usually some part of the journey that stands out, either really great, or really bad, as in arduous, troublesome, and memorable. He seeks to make a connection with people, something I like to do in my travels as well. In the "Deep South", he finds these stories, and tries not to judge. He walks into a small Alabama convenience store. He notices the jars of penny candy on the countertop. He tells the clerk, "When I was a boy, we used to call it penny candy." The clerk, perhaps in a moment of defensiveness, replies, "Road candy, eat it while you're driving." Suddenly, I flashed on something I completely forgot. I fondly remember my dear Mom with a small bag of candy in her purse, only when we took off on our family vacation, usually to Southern California, to visit relatives. It might have been the only time I saw my Mom with any type of junk food. Of course, our little town did not have a McDonalds or Taco Bell back then. I miss my Mom, as I am sure many of you do as well. Moms are the BEST! Thank you for the memory, Paul Theroux!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb