Travel?blog


Advertisement
Published: April 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

To the RIGHT!

Joshua Tree National Park

What is travelling, and what is not?
Just because I don't pack my clothes into a bag and find a new bed each night, does that mean that I am not a traveller?

I choose to oppose that framework, and to say that even the static person can still be the traveller, there still are thousands of personally untouched terrain to tread. There still are thousands of unshook hands to shake in this town.

OK, maybe I'm wrong.

That's why I decided to get OUT of this town when I finished my winter quarter finals last week. 2 maths and 1 stats = suicide. It's a scientific fact!!

Goodbye rainy northern california (don't get me wrong, I know she will blossom into a beautiful mistress), hello southern california. I'm not talking hollywood stars, and breast enhancement, no. There's NO way I'd spend my precious school-break there in the delusional disneyland part of the world where everyone dreams of being bigger and badass-er than themselves, where no one appreciates themselves for them-simple-selves. I'm talking the barren desert part of southern california. The place that turns partial and fictitious men into whole and real men. Only a dry and waterless horizon of rocks and cacti can convince a man invincible.

So to the rocks of Joshua Tree National Park I went, on my personal vision quest, to search for the inner Gadi. Sure enough, I only found some cacti and some rocks.

Maybe my inner self is a spiky, succulent, leafless, water hording plant??


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Gadiel's Inner Self...Gadiel's Inner Self...
Gadiel's Inner Self...

... asks "Why is it so hard to be good looking?"
Micah's Inner Self...Micah's Inner Self...
Micah's Inner Self...

... asks "Don't you think I look good in these slacks?"
A sole wildflower...A sole wildflower...
A sole wildflower...

...ahead of the curve. Only ONE wildflower seen in 4 days in the desert. Yet, it was amazingly beautiful.
Mike and his motherMike and his mother
Mike and his mother

mother nature
Blink.Blink.
Blink.

Don't blink, you've missed it.
Bask in it.Bask in it.
Bask in it.

Beautiful sunset in Joshua Tree National Park.
Tripper, for sureTripper, for sure
Tripper, for sure

Good man, that Mike.
Art Nouveau...Art Nouveau...
Art Nouveau...

Un Homme dans Un Cactus
Rocks and RocksRocks and Rocks
Rocks and Rocks

"I've been looking for a way to find a way to find you, turning over every unturned stone."
Owns the landscape.Owns the landscape.
Owns the landscape.

Figuratively speaking, because this land to share.


4th April 2006

awesome photos, dude.
4th April 2006

You rock
Your blog made my day! See you soon!
5th April 2006

i love and miss my weird gadiel
6th April 2006

dang
gadi. i cannot even tell you how much i enjoy your eye for capturing the world in such beautiful ways. especially the simplicity very few find in nature. keep exploring and keep sharing the world through those wacky gadi goggles!! miss you and looking forward to april 22nd :)
5th May 2006

hey thats
exactly what i did on my spring break

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 93; dbt: 0.0961s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb