Why I travel


Advertisement
Published: May 30th 2019
Edit Blog Post

While growing up in the 1960's traveling was never a subject that was discussed in our family. My father owned his own business and worked 6 days a week to provide for my mother and my 2 sisters. Our life was comfortable but there was never time or extra money for vacations. Seeing the world, understanding other cultures, learning geography was not on my radar. My wake up call was when I was 13 and in 7th grade. My father had finally taken the opportunity to join some friends for a 4 day fishing trip, something he deserved and was looking forward to. Unfortunately, the day of departure, my father had a heart attack at age 40. Thankfully, he survived and recovered well but he never did take a trip. He passed away at age 53 having never experienced well deserved "time off". I learned very quickly that life can be short and we only get one shot at it. I vowed to myself I would see as much of the world as possible on my father's behalf. I wish he was here so I could share my experiences with him. I know he'd be proud that I didn't let life get in the way of exploring. I know when I was born, I don't know when I'll die, so I'm living the dash in between as fully as possible.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0799s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb