Days Twelve to Sixteen: Escondido and Laguna Beach CA Yessss!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Fresno
July 25th 2009
Published: July 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

These past few days have been really fun. Mom and I spent four days with my uncle, aunt, and two cousins in Escondido. Our family is so kind and hilarious! We ate at this restaurant, La Farfalla, which serves gluten-free food that is really tasty! I had hummus with veggies that was very healthy and delicious! Thursday night we had burritos with some of my cousins’ friends. They were yummy! The tortillas kept on breaking , but the burrito fillings were very tasty. Thursday night was fun, everyone was playing a game and/or just talking. Mom and I both loved being with family. We both had a great time! I can’t wait to see them again, hopefully soon!

Yesterday we visited with our very close family friends, Art and Carol, in Laguna Beach. We ate marvelous burritos from a restaurant in Laguna Beach named Wahoo’s Fish Tacos, which is right next to the beach. We saw surfers in the water, and now I really want to take lessons! My burrito was amazing with pico de gallo, beans, rice, and cheese. I gave my burrito a perfect 10 because it wasn’t too dull a taste and it wasn’t so spicy that my mouth was on fire and it was a really good burrito. Mom comments, ”Mine was phenomenal. I loved the tofu and the wide range veggies and the brown rice, and the unusual sauce. If I lived near Los Angeles, I would eat a lot of Wahoo’s Banzai burritos.” We also walked around the area looking at pretty plants and various animals. Right before we left Laguna Beach we each got more burritos from Wahoo’s. Then I had some very tasty cake batter soft serve ice cream from an ice cream store next door to Wahoo’s called Golden Spoon. It was delightful, but I had enough to give myself a little stomachache.

Today we’re going to pick up my dad and sister from the airport in San Francisco. We haven’t seen them in quite a while! It should be very awesome to see them again.




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



25th July 2009

Glad to hear from you again. Ellie, I particularly like the t-shirt you were wearing in some of the photos. I must admit I had a "start", as they say, when I saw the photo of you, your mom, and Mark. Just a quick look made me think Gramps was in the picture as Mark resembles him so much. I remember when Art and Carol came to your house for dinner just before they moved to California. Glad you were able to see them. So Wahoo's burritos are pretty awesome. Laughing Planet has competition?? Oh No! So all of you are going to be camping in the Redwoods?? That should be awe inspiring. Tell your dad and Vanessa hi for me. Enjoy your time with your dad and Vanessa - but I guess Vanessa will be joining the road trip at this point, right?? Continue to have an interesting, fun time. Love, Anne
25th July 2009

Forgot to ask - what is Fresno like? Isn't that in the middle of the massive vegetable farming area? You know, I think I know why I was taken aback by Mark's photo - I think he has one of Gramp's polo shirts on (Mark got a lot of his clothes) or at least one like your Gramps had. Will you be able to see any of San Francisco, ride a cable car?? Riding those is really fun, especially when you are hanging off the side going down a steep hill to the water!
25th July 2009

me too
Hi guys: I can't wait to join this adventure! See you guys in San Fran. love, P
25th July 2009

Hi Daddy! See you later, alligator! Love, Ellie
25th July 2009

Hi Anne! We just arrived in San Fran. We will see cool sights! Yes, Laughing Planet has some competition. We will be staying in the Redwoods. How are you? Love, Ellie
26th July 2009

sweet to see you with M,A,D,&S!
dearest ellie and mary: wish we could have been in escondido at the same time! we miss all of you and mark and family! give love to all and to paulo & vanessa. have an amazing time in the redwoods! hi anne! this blog is a virtual family & friend reunion! larva, amy, joaquín, & santiago ps have there been a larger percentage of black beans or pinto beans on your burritos so far?
27th July 2009

Guess all four of you are in the great Redwoods. I hope all of you are having a great time. Vanessa, I just received a wonderful card from you. I have a regular gallery of cards from Vanessa, Ellie, and Mary adorning the desk. How exciting to read of all you travels and how wonderful of you to remember me. That means more than you will ever know. I look forward to your next blog to learn what you all are doing out west. Love, Anne
28th July 2009

Hope you are enjoying Crater Lake. What is it like? I hear the temperatures are hot, hot, hot in the northwest and I would imagine there isn't much air-conditioning. Take it easy there. How was San Fran?? Mary, I called and left a message on Sunday ( I think) so I guess we are playing phone tag.
30th July 2009

Hey Art and Carol! How r u guys? ~Ellie
30th July 2009

Hi Anne! How are you? We're all doing great! Love, Ellie
30th July 2009

Hi Amy!!!!! Wow, I haven't talked to you in a long time! I eat a mixed amount of pinto and black beans. How r u? Infinite love from us all! ~Ellie
30th July 2009

Are you guys surviving the unusual extreme heat in Portland?? Have you found the Laughing Planet there? What have you been doing? Are the four of you still traveling together?? Hope you are all having fun and staying cool. Amy, Joaquin, and Santiago will be in Indiana when you are, so we should have a grand time. Love, Anne
30th July 2009

HI Anne!! We ate at Laughing Planet last night, and we've learned that there are around five of them in Oregon! We're surviving the heat here that's in the hundreds! Yay! We're all super excited about coming and see a lot of our family! We all love you! Love, Ellie

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb