Avalon


Advertisement

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

MDR to Avalon


On 10/15 at 0930, Ansa and Echo checked out of Marina del Rey and set sail for Avalon on Catalina Island. At first there was no wind, but then it came up to about five or six knots on the nose. I dragged the traveler over and wind in the main gave me enough power to reduce the engine rpm from 2800 to 2000 and still maintain six plus knots of speed. Still later, we changed course to more of a reach and I unfurled the jib. Still motorsailing but a lot nicer ride with less rolling. Waves were maybe two or three feet and it was warm. Its amazing how much warmer it is south of Santa Barbara.

Because this is the off season, we were able to moor in Avalon harbor. The last time I was here was in an August, and I had to moor about five miles away and take the water taxi. This is much nicer. The mooring balls in this harbor are very tightly spaced. Echo pulled in and moored flawlessly. Ansa followed and did not do as well. Karla was having trouble pulling up the stern line and we drifted stern first into the adjacent boat. Kept me busy fending off. We finally got the stern line up off the bottom and settled in. The adjacent boats bow anchor tapped my BBQ, but there was no damage.

Heres a little something for the gearheads out there. Before I left Alameda, I bought a wi-fi repeater (just google Jefatech). Karla wanted to try to keep working on the trip so I thought it might help. I was hoping it would pull in weak signals and allow us to have Internet access on the boat when we are in a harbor. So far it has been pretty much a bust for that purpose. This morning here in Avalon harbor, I set the system up, even though the local signal was strong enough without it because I am still testing it. I wanted to update my travelblog, so I paid the local carrier his ten dollars for 24 hours of access. Im busy working on the blog when Brian calls me up and tells me he has Internet access by selecting my repeater for his wi-fi. This is without having to log on and create and pay for an account. An unexpected and welcome benefit. Echo is about 40 feet from Ansa and Brian says my repeater gives him a full five bars of signal. Im guessing that anyone close to Ansa can do the same and ride my account for free. Pretty cool.

We plan to spend the day here in Avalon and then take off at Odarkthirty for San Diego, which is 80 or 90 miles away.

It is a gorgeous day here in Avalon. Sunny, warm, just beautiful. Its lunch time so Im going to call the shore boat, get a ride to shore, and find a nice place for lunch. What a life!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



24th February 2010

Interested in Ansa and Echo back story...
David and Mike- I just happened upon your blog and was able to pick it up from where you left marina del Rey and read it all the way through to La Paz. I really enjoyed it. I am very interested in knowing more about David and Mike, who they are, how they decided to take off on this expedition, how they planned it, where to next (I saw a reference to Panama) and any other background. I can't seem to get any blog before the Marina Del Rey to avalon entry so I don't have much context to your staory. I am hoping to retire in a couple of years (at 60) and my hope is to do a similar trip, from San Diego to La Paz and perhaps beyond. I have travelled the Baja Pennisula for 25 years and but only have sailed down to Ensenada (about as much as my former 26' trailerable sailboat would handle) but I have always dreamed of getting an adequate boat and sailing all the way down. Thanks very much for sharing your adventure. I hope you can direct me to some more info on you as adventurers and your other adventurers as well. Glenn Davis Phoenix AZ

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb