A rocket explosion.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Bishop
November 10th 2008
Published: November 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

my trip so far...my trip so far...my trip so far...

through Owen's Valley
Apple Valley,
15-10-2002, early morning.

"Strange red lights in the sky, you say, I hope you didn't make photos of them". I'm inside the tiny police station of Apple Valley, a small typical american city with broad streets and low houses that have big gardens in front of them.
"No, I did not make photos of these red light", I tell the blond female police officer who is on reception duty, her big protruding belly betraying to me she is gonna be a mother soon.
"Good because the people at the nearby Edward Airforce Base don't like that". Good, I thought as much...secret american aircraft.
I chat a bit more with the blond copper enjoying the strong hot coffee she has given me and the two chocolate muffins, telling her about my bicycle trip and answering her questions about life in Holland while she gives me the necesary info on the condition of the road ahead.
Forget about the local tourist bureau when you're a long distance cyclist...these guys will just tell you about the local musea, that sort of stuff but rarely know anything what the roads outside the city are like, posible camping places etc.

Edward Airforce
Owls..Owls..Owls..

that i hear at night while sitting in front of my little tent with a luke warm beer
Base,
Nighttime.

I've rolled out my sleeping bag in a small sandy clearing surrounded by low chaparal and creosote bushes, on a small hill facing Edward Airforce Base down in the valley.
I don't dare setting up my tent since this will probably be visible from the road.
I'm not supposed to be wildcamping so close to the base as I was told by the guards at the gate when I cycled past.
Not sleeping in my tent means I run a small but certain risk of posoinous scorpios and rattle snakes. However the idea of getting arrested out here as a foreign spy does also not really appeal to me.
They actually seem quite busy down there despite the late hour....sh*t they fire a rocket - or whatever it is - into the air exploding it at several hundert meters altitute...a nice plume of smoke and then an ever growing ball of white light with green light in the middle.
Inside the ball of white light I imagine to recognise La Perigrina De Santiago De Compostela.
Needless to say I watch this free spectacle with my eyes wide open, mouth agape while a strong thunder rolls across the
 a rocket explosion.. a rocket explosion.. a rocket explosion..

over Edward's Airforce Base
valley...the most beautiful fireworks I've ever seen.
I'm really quite pleased!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb