Going Overland


Advertisement
Published: May 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I have been re-evaluating the wisdom of my itinerary for a couple weeks now (since I've been trying to explain it to the inquirers at WorMar and elsewhere).

After flying into Dublin on the 7th and mucking about for a day or two, I'm going to daintily skip to Cologne (Koeln) via a low-cost, intra-European air carrier. Depending on the day, I'll go out and be generally agog and try to sniff out some good dance clubs, as I still be acting a fool for Koeln-based electronic music label Kompakt's releases.

After that, it's time to biggity-bust out my Eurail pass and chug along to Berlin just in time for a Stereo Total concert in their hometown. The last time I saw Stereo Total I got too excited, and through a series of poor decisions, became paralytically drunk, ending up slumped against the wall outside the nightclub. I recall sitting helplessly in a puddle of my own sick, with a police officer questioning my friends about whether I was pre- or postmortem. I anticipate that this concert will be EVEN BETTER!

In all seriousness, you should always drink in moderation.

Thereafter is a play week between Berlin and Bordeaux, where I'll crash VinExpo, which runs the 19th to the 23rd. I promise that if I meet the Baronness de Rothschild there, I won't try to tear off her human mask.

After that it's straight on to Buda, I think...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0939s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb