Going back to Cali


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Barstow
February 16th 2008
Published: February 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Check out this townCheck out this townCheck out this town

I should move here.
Back in California!

Okay, I didn't post yesterday. I was just too beat and feeling really weird, so I skipped it. So this is two days' worth.

Wednesday morning got up kinda late (no surprise) and left Amarillo, Texas. Stopped off to check out the 72 ounce steak. The deal with this thing is that if you can eat it in an hour, it's free. It's a LOT of meat. You have to eat it at a special table in front of everyone at the restaurant and they have a timer by you and even a little barf bucket...you know, just in case. The last person to do it was a 120 pound woman! Nice!

The Weather Channel was predicting that this was going to be a bad driving day for me. All I saw along I-40 was snow, snow, snow. But what the heck - I was going for it. So I headed out of Texas and into New Mexico. I have to admit, northern New Mexico is much more scenic than the southern part. Lots of buttes and plateaus and canyons stuff. I started driving with blue skies, but I could see the storm system off
Ice StormIce StormIce Storm

It was like this for over 100 miles of driving through Missouri. Everything was covered in ice...the trees, the grass, the houses, the telephone wires, the people...
to my right and it looked nasty. And off to the left was another weather system that looked ugly too.

I kept moving along and managed to beat the weather and made it into Gallup, New Mexico. There were a few things I wanted to stop and see like the ice caves and Sky City (city on top of a plateau), but I wasn't feeling good and the weather was moving pretty good. Got a room and crashed. Woke up and saw it had been snowing, but wasn't snowing now.

Got moving and headed towards Flagstaff, Arizona. About 100 miles outside of town it started snowing. And blowing wind. About 30 miles out of town it was really coming down, and visibility was down to maybe a third of a mile. But I made it through all right. Paul texted me and said the doppler radar showed all clear outside of Flagstaff, so I took off and voila! Five minutes out of town it was blue skies, all the way out until nightfall. So here I am in Barstow in my last hotel of this trip. Tomorrow I should make it home, and then this journey will be
Northern New MexicoNorthern New MexicoNorthern New Mexico

More scenic than the nothingness of the southern part of the state.
over.

It will be nice to sleep in my own bed. I also have not shaved in about 10 days and have quite a nice little beard going. I see that some of the whiskers are grey, too! Ouch! I think I will leave it until I go to work on Tuesday.

Anyway, time for lights out!

Miles driven Wednesday - 422 miles
Miles driven today - 537 miles
Total miles driven - 5068 miles



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The Big TexanThe Big Texan
The Big Texan

Home of the 72 ounce steak.
No bull!No bull!
No bull!

Get some steak!
The 72 Ouncer HimselfThe 72 Ouncer Himself
The 72 Ouncer Himself

Think you could power one of these down?
Steak scaleSteak scale
Steak scale

This shows you how big it is compared to my pen.
Storm clouds in New MexicoStorm clouds in New Mexico
Storm clouds in New Mexico

Getting to look kinda nasty
Flagstaff, ArizonaFlagstaff, Arizona
Flagstaff, Arizona

Not a Head and Shoulders commercial, it's snow.


19th February 2008

Welcome home!
Welcome back to Cali, thanks for the updates on your trip. :)

Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb