A Tribute to Our Journey


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Bakersfield
August 16th 2017
Published: August 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Oh boy, a trip to Canada in May, a trip to Canada in June, a trip to Iceland and London in July, Grand Canyon and Petrified Forest in July/August and here we are going to leave again. I’ll blog about these other trips as I can.

In May I started an Instagram blog and as we were going along I noticed the mileage of our truck and shot a photo of the odometer. I remembered that a neighbor wanted me to let him know the mileage once in a while. What better than to keep a record by photos.

I was thinking about our truck and thought I’d pay tribute to her and the people who have made our journey possible.

Back in 2006, we had a truck that was simply not big enough to handle the RV and was difficult to get equipment in and out of by myself.

I came home, my dad was declining with his cancer treatments when we got serious. I told Dale that I only wanted a new truck, I was tired of breakdowns and struggling with equipment. We started looking.

We’d been to several lots and one salesman made
OdometerOdometerOdometer

The odometer reading upon arriving home from our last trip 2 days ago.
me so mad when he wouldn’t discuss anything with me. We walked away and wouldn’t shop for any of their trucks.

We decided to go to “GMC Motor City”. We walked in the door and the salesman, Richard listened to what I needed in a truck. He looked and found that they had just ordered a truck to be built with nearly every specification that I needed. We agreed to buy the truck upon its delivery.

Our truck came into the dealership but my dad was failing. Richard told us to come get the truck, that we’d deal with the paperwork later. We left our old vehicle at the dealership and went to my dad with the new truck.

Dale has been obsessive with our truck and with the help of a couple of mechanics, our truck keeps going and towing. A shout out to Bob Klingenberg from Eye Street Automotive who freely gives Dale advice and has loaned a tool or 2 on occasion. And to Steve Foust who also has given advice and gone beyond the call of duty with repairs.

Our truck has been to the East Coast and Canada too many times to count. We drove our truck to Alaska and back. A friend made the comment that we have driven the circumference of the earth 19 times.



We don’t know when we will reach the 500,000-mile mark but I’m suspecting it will be sooner than later and hopefully, the camera will be ready. We will just keep on truckin’

Advertisement



Tot: 0.464s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb