A Quiet Start to A Trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Alturas
July 29th 2019
Published: August 9th 2019
Edit Blog Post

We left for Nate’s on Monday, this grandkids trip different as we started out by ourselves. A little piece and quiet before the gang of grandkids.

We helped Nate and Bekki can apricots, babysit kids, clean and ready for friends. Dale worked with Nate on repairing a piece of equipment, something he loves to do. Unfortunately, there was no time for a backpacking trip.

Prior to leaving home, I’d asked Bekki if she had basil, she answered that she had lots. I brought my Cuisinart so that I could make Pesto for us. Well, Bekki had basil, lots of basil, probably 20 plants, loaded with leaves.

On Wednesday Bekki and I picked basil, filling 2 baskets. We roped Christabel into washing everything while Bekki and I took the leaves off. Finally, a couple of hours later, we had 12 Cups of leaves. We made 5 whole pints of Pesto.

On Thursday, I thought I’d try to make a little more. I went out and picked a bunch of basil then proceeded to clean the leaves and make the pesto. 5-hours later I had 5-pint jars of pesto. The pesto was really good but I’m not sure worth the time.

Grandkids swam, I read a book and we had a glass of wine with the neighbor. This was a perfect way to start a vacation.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0809s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb