I'm still trying to figure this thing out...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Alameda
June 21st 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Random PhotoRandom PhotoRandom Photo

Sunrise at the marsh back home in Arcata.
Soon I will be off to Perú and then Ecuador. It feels fitting as it was 10 years ago this September (the 5th to be precise) that I arrived in Ecuador for my first big adventure on my own and away from home.

This will be my third trip to South America, but the first time that I go with no obligations, schedules to stick to, or rules to follow. There will be no school, which is fortunate because I don’t think that in my old age I could handle either the plaid skirt of my Ecuadorian Colegio or the freezing classrooms of my Chilean Universidad. No host families or permanent roommates, which, has both its positives (no drug snorting off the kitchen table) and negatives (no one to help me around a new city and make sure I get home safe and sound.) And no commitments to stay away from home for long periods of time. 5 weeks is sounding about perfect. I’m hoping that by then I’ll be recharged and ready to come back and tackle another group of kids.

I’m excited, I’ve been looking forward to Perú for quite some time and a return to Ecuador is long overdue. I can’t wait to get back to Quito, but I’m also dying to see the other parts of the country that I wasn’t allowed to travel to when I was with AFS. And this time I’m traveling around the country first so I won’t be swallowed up in my Quito love and not make it anywhere else like I did the last 2 times I made Quito visits.

Those are my plans as far as they exist. I don’t really know when I’m heading where. And, really, for most of the trip I don’t even know where I’ll be heading. According to the angel world it is a summer for creativity and spontaneity, neither of which come naturally to me. I guess I’ll just have to see how it goes.


Advertisement



25th June 2007

well - she's packed!
I'm sitting in the middle of Shalea's living room surrounded by her... umm... what's a nice word?... stuff --- everywhere! But the important thing is that she is completely packed and ready to leave the country. Whether or not she'll ever want to come back knowing what her house looks like is another story.... :)
25th June 2007

:-P
26th June 2007

Good luck!
Ay chica, I am excited about you! I can't wait to hear and read your updates. *hugs*

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0997s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb