Eagle Rock Loop Gear


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arkansas
September 29th 2014
Published: September 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I went up to KC today to buy things I will need for the trip. The mountainhouse meals I bought were about 7 dollars a piece, and I bought 8 total. I decided against getting the army surplus bag. I thought it would be too big and bulky for what I need. I bought a 50 liter, $80 bag. It's internal frame, I was looking at an external frame pack but it didn't work with a camel pak. I bought both the food and bag at Academy Sports. Then I went to REI to get the rest. There I got moleskin, wool socks, bug spray, and paracord. Instead of a tent, I decided to buy a hammock. I bought the Moskito Kakoon hammock from Byer of Maine (https://www.byerofmaine.com/moskito-kakoon-hammock.html). I'm very excited to try it out. I was looking into ENO hammocks, but they were simply too pricey for me. The hammock itself runs for about 60 bucks, hanging straps are sold separate and cost 20, and the mosquito net costs another 55. What would have totaled 135 bucks from ENO costed me 55 from Byer. Granted it's probably a little less quality, but I won't be too rough on it. It doesn't have a rain fly, but if there is rain in the forecast I'll bring a tarp I can tie over it. It only weighs 16 oz and easily ties onto the bottom of my pack. I'm going to keep my clothing very light, probably just a hiking set, and a change for sleep. I'll throw in a rain jacket if it's not going to be cold, and if it is I'll bring my waterproof columbia jacket. I'm going to try to bring something better than my phone to take pictures with.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb