Preparations for Ouachita Mountains.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arkansas
September 24th 2014
Published: September 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Early this week I made rushed plans to go on a backpacking trip in the Ouachita Mountains in Arkansas. We will be doing the Eagle Rock Loop, which is 26 miles and will take about three days (old man Davidson is with us, or else it could be done in two). Right now four of us are going, and I'm looking for a fifth.

It's been a while since I've been on a backpacking trip, so I've been frantically trying to remember where all my gear is, and what i need to buy more of. Thinking about getting an army surplus backpack, as my current one is pretty battered, and probably a little small for a three day trip. Going to buy some cheap dehydrated meals from Walmart, and try to bring jerky if I have any. I'll need wool socks and lots of moleskin, because there are very many water crossings on the trail. This is also a good thing, because we can just bring a filter and boiling rig instead of packing water.

This trip is one step in preparing to tackle the Grand Canyon rim to rim this spring break. No beer for me this spring break, until it's time to celebrate finishing the hike that is.

The Ouachitas are very scenic, I'll attach some pictures, and a link describing the trail. After class I'm headed off to the gym to get some cardio in, it's been awhile.

http://www.ouachitamaps.com/Eagle%20Rock.html


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb