Hello from Arkansas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arkansas » Little Rock
November 4th 2007
Published: November 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Hazen, AR.

Two uneventful days for the most part. Arrived in Nashville mid afternoon and had some barbeque at Jack’s on Broadway. Actually the back door of Jack’s opens to the back stage entrance of the Ryman Auditorium. I saw some of the folks who performed Saturday night in Jack’s.

The Grand Ole Opry was in the Ryman Auditorium and it was a great experience. Got to see Vince Gill (Amy Grant came with him but didn’t perform - they did dance with the Opry Square Dancers) as they came in for the show. Saw several other artists at the back entrance.

Jim Ed Brown, Ralph Stanley, Patty Loveless, Sawyer Brown and many others were on the lineup.

Thought I was going to get to take advantage of “gaining” two hours Saturday. I went from EDT to CDT and we got to “fall back” to standard time. Unfortunately I didn’t know Tennessee State University’s homecoming was last night. They played at the Titan’s stadium downtown and it was gridlocked when I left the Opry at 11:30. It took me an hour to get out of the parking garage and about 5 blocks south of Broadway.
Ralph StanleyRalph StanleyRalph Stanley

Ralph Stanley and Patty Loveless perform a duet at the Ryman Auditorium Sat Nov 3, 2007.
So much for gaining extra hours.

I drove about 30 miles further today than originally planned. I’m about 50 miles east of Little Rock. Monday will be a short drive to Petit Jean State Park. Looking forward to a relaxing day and taking some hikes.

That’s it for tonight. I’m uploading a couple of shots I took last night with my point and shoot camera.

Bruce and Chessy



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Jim Ed BrownJim Ed Brown
Jim Ed Brown

Jim Ed Brown at the Grand Ole Opry Nov 3, 2007.


Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0961s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb