Petit Jean State Park


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arkansas » Conway
November 5th 2007
Published: November 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

CCC Water TowerCCC Water TowerCCC Water Tower

This unique rock structure held a water tank in its upper level and supplied the lodge and cabins with drinking water. It was built by the Civilian Conservation Corps in the 1930s.
I’m beginning to get a taste of what I want RVing to be. Although I didn’t have much downtime today it was a leisurely day. I drove all of 105 miles and arrived at Petit Jean State Park (about an hour west of Little Rock) and was set up by lunchtime!

One of the goals I’m shooting for with this RV lifestyle is to slow down, not rush from one place to another and take the time to enjoy where I am. Taking time to really rest and relax is another goal.

I haven’t yet caught up from “partying” with all the Tennessee State fans on Saturday night. But hopefully by the time I leave this spot I will be rested.

What a cool place this is. It is Arkansas’ first state park and is on a “mountain” about 45 minutes off I-40. There are awesome views of the Arkansas River valley and on a clear day Mt Magazine, the tallest point in the state at 2753 feet. Today was hazy. I was able to see Mt. Nebo, but not Magazine. It was too hazy at the overlooks to get any shots worth sharing with you tonight. I
Petit Jean State Park CampgroundPetit Jean State Park CampgroundPetit Jean State Park Campground

This is a shot of Ike and Trina at the campground. You can see the lake in the background. Paved roads and parking pad (pull through) with a nice gravel area around the picnic table. In the foreground you can see they even have a gravel tent pad on all the sites. A really first rate place.
also have a slow connection (but I DO have my Verizon USB modem with a signal). So you’ll only get a couple of images tonight.

The campground is VERY NICE. Large sites, full hookup (unusual for state parks - at least the ones I’ve been to before) and I’m right on the lake.

When you are passing through Arkansas it’s worth a stop here. Even if you only have a few hours, you can see a lot with a short driving tour. There is a lodge and cabins so even if you don’t camp, you can stay here. In fact they even have an airport (it’s right across the lake from me) and folks can fly in and camp over there.

A front is moving through tonight and it is very windy, but still pleasant temps. So far it is a dry front, but is to be MUCH cooler than the 80 degrees it was today.

I took Chessy with me on the driving tour this afternoon and we went on several short walks.

That’s all for tonight. I’m going to wind down shortly. Tomorrow is going to be a laid back day. I’m going
cloud reflectionscloud reflectionscloud reflections

Here's an impressionistic artsy fartsy shot I took this afternoon of clouds reflected in Lake Roosevelt.
to an auto museum that’s right outside the park and take at least one short hike.

Thanks for checking in.

Bruce




Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb