Days 13 to 15 - Arizona


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona
July 14th 2010
Published: July 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Apologies for the lack of updates. Here is a quick rundown of what I’ve done since flying out of Colorado:

Phoenix



* Conditions were very toasty in Phoenix.
* After collecting the rental car, it was a quick drive to the motel for a couple minutes of rest before grabbing a bit to eat at Heart Attack Grill. Heart Attack Grill is a themed burger joint were the waitresses are dressed as nurses and the cooks are dressed as doctors - I’m sure there was a disclaimer somewhere in the store declaring that staff aren’t trained nurses etc.
* Customers weighing over 350 pounds get to eat for free!
* 500ml bottles of Coca Cola are sold and the burgers are gigantic! Everything is cooked in lard; the fries, the patties and even the hamburger buns, which seem to shine.
* I decided to go with a side of fries and the "Double Bypass" burger - a two storey burger with a total of 1 pound of meat. I was originally going to go with a “Single Bypass” but a little fat kid across the counter changed my mind - if little Buddha thinks he could put away a “Double Bypass” then I should be able to.
* While successful in my attempt, I immediately regretted my meal and knew it would have its revenge later on in the day.


Flagstaff and the Grand Canyon



* Drove up to Flagstaff. It's not the hardest drive in the world and only takes about 3 hours. I wish the rental car had an input port for my iPod. I like country music but I can’t listen to 3 hours worth of songs about lost love, closed down wood mills and shots of whiskey.
* The landscape between Phoenix and Flagstaff is quite boring when compared to Colorado.
* After checking into my motel, which was quite seedy, I drove another 2 hours up to the southern rim of the Grand Canyon.
* The views are spectacular. Most of the viewing platforms allow members of the public to climb around to get a better snapshot. I don’t think Crocs fall into the recommended footwear category for hiking and/or rock climbing.
* Was able to enjoy a nice sunset before driving back to Flagstaff. Driving around an unfamiliar location at night can be nerve racking, driving down a winding hilly road without proper street lights is white knuckle terror.
* Spent the remainder of the evening in a honky tonk karaoke bar. I don’t recall singing anything. The beers were flat and served in warm glasses. Woke up with a terrible headache. The drive back to Phoenix was painful.


More pics can be found at My Flickr account.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



25th July 2010

=S
that burger looks freaky... like plastic...

Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb