Day 8


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona
June 5th 2009
Published: June 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

GRAND CANYON!!



Woke up early and headed to the Grand Canyon. Took about two hours to get there. Was probably the most awesome thing I've ever seen. We were trying to find a parking spot but couldn't in the first lot so we're about to drive out and then we saw it through the trees and both of our jaws just dropped. Like.. HOLY.. SHIT. wow. It was nuts.

So we found a place in the next lot, got out and started walking along this Rim Trail. Was pretty siiicckk. Took most of my pictures there. We walked along a bit and came to this trail head which headed down into the Canyon so we took that. It was a steep decline all the way down, just zigzagging down one area. Of course we didn't go all the way down although I kind of wish we had. But there were signs everywhere saying "DON'T think you can hike down and back up all in one day; many hikers each year suffer serious illnesses from exhaustion or death." So yeah, clearly.. we took that advice. We hiked down for ooohhhh I don't know maybe an hour? maybe a little less.
DSC02881DSC02881DSC02881

My signature sandwhich.. on french toast. I'm amazed.
And then turned back.

They say it takes two hours going back up for every hour you went down. So what I did to disprove that was jog out of the canyon. I got bored at the top so I walked back down and met dad somewhere in the middle, drank some of his water, and then jogged back up again. It was a pretty good workout. Felt awesome actually, but really tired me out. After that we walked back along the trail we came in on and found a bus station, and took it to all the different little lookouts along the South Rim. Some lookouts we hiked in between, some we hopped on another bus. And eventually we reached the end and turned around back to the car.

It was a full day of Grand Canyon Awesomeness. Really enjoyed it. It REALLY tired me out though. Of courseee there was a quote to be shared. It happened when we were hiking between Hopi Point and some other lookout spot. We had just seen a lizard and dad goes:

I think that was the Geico Gecko.


b]Me:

Oh yeah?


b]Dad:

Yeah, he tried selling me insurance.



Ohhhh isn't he clever lol. I actually died laughing.

After all that we cruised to Kingman, AZ to rest our heads for the night. The next day we drove for about 6 hours and ARRIVED AT MY PLACE IN CALI!! So here I am now. In my house, in my room, at my desk, in California. How strange.

Hope you all enjoyed my travel blog. I had fun doing it... most nights, lol. Some nights I just wanted to passss out but I had requests to do this thing so I kept it going. Thanks to all who followed along on my journey 😊

Love, Hugs, Kisses.
Keep it real everyone. Hold down NY for me. <3


Additional photos below
Photos: 72, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

DSC02883DSC02883
DSC02883

hahaha. i shouldn't laugh though.
DSC02899DSC02899
DSC02899

climbing treeees as usual
DSC02906DSC02906
DSC02906

Just to be different
DSC02913DSC02913
DSC02913

JEFFERY pine??? i dunno maybe.
DSC02921DSC02921
DSC02921

Livin' life on the edgggee
DSC02930DSC02930
DSC02930

Some cool building
DSC02950DSC02950
DSC02950

Hiking down into the canyon..


Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb