Day14 Bylas to Safford 33 miles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona
October 2nd 2008
Published: October 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

GeronimoGeronimoGeronimo

So if he was alive today and went on a parachte jump what is he going to say as he leapsout of the plane......
Oct 2nd
Up early at 5.30 and away before 8. Its an easy day today, only 33 miles to Safford, quite flat and ther are even a few towns with services on-route so I dont have to stock up with litres of ice and water.I have a coffee in Fort Thomas and notice I need some air in the rear tyre and later that the gears are clunking a bit.
Its about time the bike had a service and I can do this at the cycle shop in Safford.
I make good time and am in Safford bike shop and internet cafe located before mid-day - brilliant.
The friendly bike shop owner advises me against the ACA route via mule creek and recommends an alternative via a town called Duncan. I consider this and take his advice. Trouble is the only two hotels are booked up and there is no information about Camping.
In Safford I check out a local RV park which is no good and end up in Roper State Park which is 6 miles off route. I end up doing 17 miles 'off route' which is a bit of a waste , I should have just taken a
Melvin Jones Melvin Jones Melvin Jones

Founder of the Lions born here in Fort Thomas
motel in town.
Roper park is scenic though with a lake and hot tub, I get chatting with a mexican couple there who think I'm crazy. Insects abound in this place, but the night sky is magnificent.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Ants Ants
Ants

Everywhere


Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb