Sometimes things just slot right in


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona
July 6th 2008
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Beam me up...Beam me up...Beam me up...

Sun shining into the canyon
I made my escape from the Anasazi Inn and tore off westwards at my usual leisurely pace, heading for Page Arizona.
Eventually arriving there I went to my hotel a day earlier than I had pre booked to be there on the internet before the trip.
It turned out that I needed to contact the business that I had booked it through on the net so that they could tell the hotel that I was going to be there a day early!
On finding a payphone as there was no cell coverage with my cell company here (again) I called and got a pleasant lady.
Then the fun began, trying to give her the booking code, I would say something like, it starts NHP……
She would reply so it’s SKR…….. Me: not it’s ……. And she would again reply with something completely different.
I could understand it if what she thought I was saying sounded like what I was actually saying but she kept on coming up with answers completely different.
This went on for a while, I even tried the phonetic alphabet, with only slightly more success.
EVENTUALLY, she got it all and I managed to change my booking to
The wide bit..The wide bit..The wide bit..

Not a tourist in sight.....just.
the day I was there.
I also had to change my booking for my trip to Antelope canyon.
Thankfully this was far easier, I explained to the friendly Indian guy at the counter what the situation was, and he simply replied, “we have a tour going in 20minutes, do you want to go on that one”, and I was on my way, couldn’t have been easier.
Antelope canyon was great, a beautiful and unusual place.
It is an approximately 400 meter long slot canyon.
You have to pay for a tour to get into it but at $30 - $35 for nearly 2 hours it is worth it.
It is only accessible by 4wd anyway.
The 4wd trip in and out is fun too as it goes up a sandy riverbed.
The public used to have access but due to litter and graffiti problems the tribe who owns the land closed it to public access.
My tour was well organized and even though there were a lot of people it was managed so that you could get good people free photos
The canyon is nice and cool after the surrounding desert and in places narrow enough that you can almost
I see the light!I see the light!I see the light!

No not quite in Utah Yet
touch both sides.
The colours and the shapes in the rock are amazing to see.
It was really worth the trip.
Much of the rest of the afternoon was spent on more mundane things like the laundry.
But I did manage to get up the energy to check out the nearby Glen canyon dam (upstream of the Grand Canyon) on the Colorado River.
And also Horseshoe bend on the Colorado River downstream of the dam.
The short walk to this is also worth the effort, even in the face of yet another Thunder storm.
Must buy a kite………..



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Horse shoe bendHorse shoe bend
Horse shoe bend

Wounder how they came up with that name?


13th July 2008

I been there!!!
15th July 2008

Incredible
Excellent photos, really want to stop off there next year whilst in the area, looks like an amazing place.

Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb